We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a great family hotel it was our second time to visit the hotel in the last year. There is great amenities for kids to the older people in your family from the swimming pool & spa to the playground,farm & pedal cars for the kids mind you I think more adults had better fun on them than the kids. We had a large family meal on the Saturday evening in the restaurant the food was just super again. The manager could not do enough for us there was a little mix up with our numbers for the meal but it was sorted out promptly. The only gripe I had was the room we stayed in (331) was really warm all day the window only opened a small bit & it was really hot day and night we had two young kids so it didn't really help with them. There was an electric fan but that wasn't great. The room itself was lovely walk in shower & a bath. As I said only a small gripe but there is one thing for sure we will most (Definitely) be going back here again thanks to all the very friendly staff & management at the Newpark hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank derekflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excellent value for money, evening meal included top quality. Reception staff extremely friendly, polite and helpful, recommending and booking another restaurant in town, a great recommendation too! Lots of entertainment for children including early teens. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was at the Spa today with my mother. All the staff were so friendly, I had Rebecca as my beauty therapist she was fantastic best back massage I have got in a long time. My mother had Eileen and couldn't recommend her enough. The introduction to the spa by Lisa was lovely. Not only were the treatments great but the relaxation room was fantastic. After we had our treatment we had the Newpark's Afternoon Tea which was gorgeously presented and delicious. I won't hesitate to go back for this package it is very reasonably priced for outstanding quality. I will be recommending to all I know.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Arrived in Kilkenny on Friday, as you can imagine it was well and truely packed with the 'Cat Laughs' comedy festival on. The town itself was beautiful with lots to do. You're best bet if staying in the hotel is to get taxi's. But make sure you make a price with them beforehand, because for the same journey we paid both €12 and €6 and €8 with different drivers. So after making a price the average was €8 to €10 which wasn't bad for the journey we had to do. The dining in the hotel bar was ok, the staff were cheerful. The room was clean, and our view was blocked by a large shrub but I did love the bathroom. The idea of the shower not being attached to the bath, that it stood on it's own was wonderful and was most welcome. The breakfast menu for room service was limited. For the price for the two nights in this room I did not think it was worth the money, and would advise to shop around for prices in other hotels in the area prior to booking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

At first we weren't impressed with our standard double room but after explaining to the reception staff that I was planning on proposing to my girlfriend they did everything they could to make our trip memorable. They upgraded us to the bridal suite with a complementary bottle of prosecco, chocolates, the works. Thanks very much to the staff (in particular Genevieve) for making our trip very special indeed.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe as opposed to the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkmk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are traveling through Ireland for our honeymoon and had an absolutely wonderful experience at Newpark Hotel. The front desk staff that we dealt with, first Isobel and then Genevieve, were extremely friendly and helpful. Also, we got upgraded to a beautiful spacious suite with a view and balcony. We had appetizers and drinks in the hotel restaurant - delicious. We would have loved to stay longer. Highly recommend!
Oh and P.S. Kilkenny is an awesome city!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear AmyC,

Thank you for choosing the Newpark. Congratulations again on your recent marriage and we are delighted that the Newpark and our wonderful city of Kilkenny provided you with the perfect location to celebrate while on your honeymoon.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you both back to the Newpark in the near future and please don’t hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Mark Dunne
General Manager
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay in the newpark hotel and I am already planning my next return stay. We were amazed by the friendliness of all the staff in reception and in the bar and bistro. It was a breath of fresh air to see so many staff who obviously enjoy working there. The food in scotts was amazing and the breakfast buffet had the biggest and best quality that I have ever experienced. Keep up the good work cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nd821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Newpark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear ND182,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and especially enjoyed the very best of locally sourced produced served daily here at The Newpark.
I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Newpark in the near future and please don’t hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Mark Dunne
General Manager
Tel: 056 776 0500
Mailto:mark.dunne@newparkhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,752 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £60 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from the historic city of Kilkenny with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. Our hotel boasts 129 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, many rooms offer views over the luscious green gardens which extend onto the urban Fen walk, Newpark adventure trail, and wildlife farm all positioned within our 40 acres of peaceful parkland. Within each room category guests are provided with a multi-channel flat screen V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and complimentary WI-FI access. Scrumptious dining facilities await you in our fine dining Gulliver’s restaurant or choose from our casual dining options in the popular Scott’s Bar & Brasserie or our newly opened Terrace bar & outdoor restaurant. Step inside our Escape Health club and Aveda spa to unwind, take time out in the hands of our therapists or recharge your batteries in our 17m swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool or our relaxation and thermal suites. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing