We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay and it was great. The grounds are beautiful and onsite activities like mini farm and falconry are perfect for kids. Our (superior family) room was lovely and the bathroom was a really good size with a separate shower and bath. The staff were very professional and down to earth. We had dinner in Gulliver's restaurant onsite and the food was superb! My only gripe is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, it was much too hot in our bedroom and sleeping was difficult. There was a portable fan for us to use in our room, which we had to have on all night to cool the room, but it was still pretty uncomfortable. If there had been air conditioning, I would have without question, given the hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: A superior room is well worth the extra, try if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    525
    151
    72
    39
See reviews for
672
542
20
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just back from 2 night stay at Newpark Hotel and would highly recommend it. We were a family of 4 (2adults 2children, 6 & 2) staying in classic family room; lovely big bright immaculate modern room. The hotel has everything and were so helpful and friendly. While it has so much for kids, the hotel itself is beautiful, well kept and opulent. Staff excellent and welcoming. We all wanted to stay another day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed with the Newpark for Easter this year and we had a great time, every member of staff was first class and looked after us very well.
The kids club was fantastic for us, our son has Asperger's Syndrome and would never normally stay in a kids club but they knew exactly what to do with him and he went every night and loved it. We managed to have a relaxing dinner every night we were there.
The food in the restaurant was very nice and again the service was great. the pool was lovely and a great addition to the hotel.
the only down side was the Bar can get busy and it can be hard to get a seat as it was almost all given over to the brassiere for food. we could of course go to the lobby with our drinks but I like to have a pint in a bar.
Apart from that the hotel was full of activities for the kids and a lovely place to stay. the pet farm and go-karts in the grounds along with the two play grounds kept the kids happy so we were happy, Great place to stay with a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were just down in new park hotel and had a great holiday as always it was the first time my little one went to the kids club at night and she would cry when I would take her out at 9.30 at night it was so good and every child was looked after so well and as for the staff what can I say they go out of their way to make it the best holiday would recommend it to everyone to go

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from 3 night stay with 3 kids. Great hotel for energetic kids & weary adults. Loads to keep kids occupied, great pool, pet farm, falconry, go-garting, kids club etc. Wonderful food but most of all what makes this hotel memorable is the staff - each & every one of them pleasant & professional. Spotless hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a 3 night break with our 2 boys and this hotel was wonderful. It has everything for children and they were very helpful to our son who uses a wheelchair and does not sleep much at night. The night staff gave him toast and juice in the middle of the night at no charge very rare in hotels now. Kids club is a great idea park go karts and wildlife farm all great for children. The hotel is spotless clean all down to the very hard working housekeeping team. We will definitely go back again as the hotel is in a great location to a wonderful town. Also I would recommend an executive suite lots of space and a wonderful balcony to enjoy the beautiful views of the hotel grounds.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank julieanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our thrid time staying in this hotel and certainly won't be our last! The staff were excellent and were on hand to help us with anything we needed. The professionalism of staff members such as Stephen, Niamh, Livvi and Katie (Bistro Manager) really added to the already excellent experience. We would reccommend this hotel to anyone wishing to enjoy a break in Kilkenny! - Martha and Pius Lynch, Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing