We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newpark Hotel still a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
“Newpark Hotel still a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Second year for 16 of us to stay in Newpark in conjunction with trip to Gowran races. Races cancelled but that was the only disappointment of the weekend. The hotel was, as before, excellent in all aspects. Good food, obliging and friendly staff and high quality rooms. Might not have got a chance to back a winner in Gowran but we did back a winner with our choice of the Newpark. Back next year please God.
S.Burke
SAH syndicate

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaypeeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    529
    155
    73
    39
See reviews for
694
554
20
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

We had our wedding in the Newpark hotel on the 29th October and cannot recommend it enough. The staff were excellent and the food was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for a better day and it was all thanks to the Newpark and its staff. A big thank you Louise & Willie

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KilfordManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Visited the Newpark Hotel from 13-15 November, 2009. Very impressed with the decor - very calm and relaxing. Stayed in one of the suites and it was very impressive. Really comfortable with huge lounge and also had the advantage of having an outside terrace. Bathroom and bedroom also really nice and comfortable - didn't want to leave it! Impressed with the Spa treatments there and the leisure facilities. Also looked at the conferencing facilities which were excellent and modern. The food was really nice, the desserts wicked and hearty breakfasts! Also, the staff at the hotel were really nice and helpful which all added up to a lovely stay in the Newpark. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether it is for a relaxing weekend or for a conference. Eileen and Tom

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mesongi4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We had our wedding reception at the Newpark Hotel on the 23rd October 2009. Everything was absolutely fantastic.The staff were very friendly and accommodating and made the planning of our wedding very easy. Anything we requested was granted without hesitation. The food was excellent and was served very quickly-everyone enjoyed their meal! The function room was beautifully arranged and the centre pieces on the tables really were stunning. We were thrilled how the day went and all our guests really enjoyed it too. We couldn't recommend Newpark highly enough, they are absolutely on top of the game when it comes to hosting weddings. Thank you so much for the wonderful day. Therese and Willie.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

One of the most important days your wedding day was experienced with Newpark Hotel, and it was amazing. The support from the wedding co-ordintor through out the experience was great but on the day they couldn't have done enough for you. The day ran like clock work, as anyone who trys to organise a function the most important thing to keep people interested is the meal. That was out standing everything was prepared really well presentation was excellent and service was fantastic everyone was feed as a group. Overall a fantastic experience... thank you..

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurfKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

I recently got married and had my reception in the Newpark Hotel. From the first day i went to enquire about this venue to two days after my wedding, i experienced nothing but excellent service. The staff were so helpful and nothing was a problem to them. The hotel itself is newly decorated to a high standard and the ball room is definately the nicest in Kilkenny. It has large chandeliers and Laura Ashley style wallpaper - very classy when it is set up. Each table has a large candelabra and fresh flowers. The bridal suite is fab and even has an outdoor hot tub. All my guests commented on the hotel and all said the meal was excellent. I would recommend the Newpark as a wedding venue to everyone or even as a hotel break - it has it all. The hotel also has a leisure center and a spa. The owner is very hands on and is a very nice person to deal with. My Friend is getting married there at christmas so i will be looking forward to returning to the Newpark as a wedding venue again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

One of my biggest gripes as a business traveler is the provision of broadband to the room, an ability to meet colleagues and discuss business in communal areas and pleasant staff to take my thoughts away from my children at home. The Newpark is excellent at all of these. I didn’t get a chance to try out the spa but took a quick look and it seems to be of the standard of the rest of the hotel.

I like this one. I’ll be back but hopefully for a family break next time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallMcKeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing