We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend, Love Kilkenny”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I went to visit some friend in Kilkenny and I had the best weekend ive had for a long time. The Hotel was fantastic, the staff there were so friendly and very accomodating. My room was superb and I learned that they had recently referbished the place and it is beautiful. The food was lovely and the health club is also fantastic. I really enjoyed the infinity pool and it was a perfect place to relax.
I love this hotel and I love Kilkenny.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends, and do

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOB80Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

friendly to say the least, wonderfull weekend stay from its brilliant health club to its lovely clean and modern rooms.wonderfully friendly and professional staff.great city also.
well worth another trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Spent 2 nights on work in Kilkenny. Loved this hotel. Health club has an outdoor infinity pool and spent allnight in ot looking out on the snow !!! Main restaurant was closed which I was not told in advance but food in bar was really tasty. During the week they were offering everbody freee upgrades

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Nice Spa facilities , good pool (indoor and outdoor heated hot Spa) , popular hotel lots of parking and walkable to city centre - you dont get the same noisy corwd here that you get in the hotels bang in the city centre

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

really great accomodation and leisure facilities spotless however bar food very disappointing and service very slow even though staff were great the restaurant wasto bar food restaurant excellent must have different kitchen i emailed several times about my disappointment wilh bar however i was not offered the courtesy of a reply!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosscats5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Myself and my boyfriend decided to go away for a 3 night break for valentines day. My boyfriend had organized a bouquet of roses from a local florist and champagne from the hotel worth 100e to be in the room as a surprise for me when we got up to the room. However the surprised was ruined as the champagne was not there, only the flowers. Understandably my boyfriend was very angry after spending 100e on it! When we called reception about it.. they said they would bring it up immediately. we waited for 20 mins before calling to cancle it. The surprise was ruined! We went to the bar for a drink and some lunch. Halfway through our drinks we went up to the carvery counter, when we came back the drinks had been taken away.
That night we decided to have dinner in the hotel (it was part of the deal). Beforehand, we went to iron our outfits, the buit in iron and board was broken. There was a seperate ironing board also, which had a mountain-like dent in the middle, so we could not use that either. We rang reception, a young man came up, i asked for another board asap as we had dinner reservations, he said this would not be possible and that it would be after our dinner before he could get us a new one. ????
The meal left a lot to be desired. We were sitting about 2 feet from the next table and the restaurant was so quiet you could hear everything anyone said! The food was average and we felt rushed. Not an ideal valentines meal at all.
What attracted us to this hotel in the first place was the infiity pool (the foto looked lovely on the website). However for our entire stay the pool remained closed as it was broken for the 3 days. The lock on our door was also broken. We heard at least 2 other people complain at the desk threatening to check out if their problems werent sorted. So it was not just us that had a problem! When chekcing out the receptionist asked was everything ok, i mentioned the champagne problem and instead of apologizing she just said that they didnt know we wanted it to the room as a surprised..blah blah blah. I didnt bother argueing.

There were some good things though! My boyfriend used the steam room and sauna, which he said was amazing. The breakfast was nice. There was a lovely thai lady working at reception who helped me with dinner and taxi reservations. You can also stay in the bar till early hours of the morning, the porter serves you drinks after the barman goes home! But really... overall.. it was not worth the money and definitely not worthy of 4 stars!! it would be a good 3 start hotel. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Female
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We held our Wedding Reception in the Newpark hotel last year and i have to stay the room, the service the food everything went perfectly i could not praise them enough, the honey moon suite was also fab would highly recommend the Newpark for a wedding.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Kilkenny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,745 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £66 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing