We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff are saving grace at Newpark in Kilkenny”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff are saving grace at Newpark in Kilkenny”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Whether this is a Newpark family owned hotel, part of the Flynn Hotel Group or a Best Western, (they need to get clear about their branding) whomever signs the pay cheques here should thank their lucky stars for an incredible team of staff, from the check-in, the bar, managers and waitresses, they were brilliant.

We checked in on Easter weekend.

Our room was number 262 and when we arrived it was really cold. A cheery and helpful manager told us the heat goes on around 4pm, so by 5pm it was warm. We went to the bar for a drink whilst it warmed up and he checked in with us to see if all was ok. A very pleasant gentleman. We had soups and sambos in the bar and it was good food and service was prompt. A lady called Tin Tin served us and was very courteous. The hotel was absolutely mental busy.

That night when we went out of the hotel to dinner, we tripped over around 30 kids all going ballistic in the lobby, playing nintendos, screaming and shouting and running around. It was absolutely dreadful - a free for all. For those with kids, the pool was for them really and it was swamped with kids most of the weekend too. Kids clubs abound. This is absolutely a KIDS/FAMILY hotel.

I am not sure if it is recession and this hotel was making hay with what seemed like full occupancy, but the hotel seemed stretched to the limits. Staff hurried around the place lifting and moving around beds. That said the beds were extremely comfortable. For the whole weekend, two beds lay on their side outside our hotel room door. The curtain rail on our room was broken too, and sign to rooms on the second floor lay on the ground for the weekend. The basic upkeep stuff seems to be neglected here.

All of that said, I can see why families love this great value hotel and as I said, it is perfect for those with young kids. I just wish we'd checked it out before we booked. Well done to the hotel staff again - every single one of you were brilliant. The escape spa was spotless and dressing rooms in great nick. It must seem like an assault course working there on b/hol weekends. My suggestion - find a way to house the hooligan kids into a separate section (like Kellys in Rosslare do!) - Food was super and thanks for the experience. I am just dissolving two solpadeine to recover from the mayhem.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank templeville3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    558
    167
    75
    41
See reviews for
740
592
23
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Special offer, 2 nights B&B plus dinner excellent value for what you get
Evening meal is not to be missed
Excellent venue for a wedding, attention to detail, top management in attendance, quality and quantity of food excellent
Leisure centre, including outside tub and steam room, is a lovely experience

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlawnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Experience the genuine welcome and friendly service which is also very efficient. Visit the leisure centre and experience the hot tub outside. All meals including snacks are excellent, but make sure you have the evening meal. We had the special- 2 nights B&B plus dinner; it was very good value

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffindublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in March. Absolutely lovely hotel, staff were excellent and could not do enough for us. We had our 2 year old son with us and the staff were excellent with him too. Bar food is lovely. Got a free upgrade to a deluxe room on arrival (probably because it was the Monday night before St Patrick's day) and have to say that it was a lovely room. The "wet area" in the bathroom can be problematic but this problem was solved by placing a towel outside of the "shower area". Childrens pool was a bit deep for our little boy but he enjoyed it none the less. Infinity pool is just fantastic, especially on cold, wet days. Small childrens play area outside which kept our little man happy for an hour every morning. We will definitely return to this hotel, compliments to all of the staff who helped make our stay a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPHWEXFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Hotel was excellent. Staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem. We went for a cheap 3 night mid week break and stayed in standard room – to upgrade is 30 euro per night. Room might be a little small but otherwise no complaint – very clean and nicely decorated. Had dinner in the bar and it was very good. Leisure centre superb.
Ate in Rinuccini and Lautrecs – highly recommend both.
15 min walk to town

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Lovely friendly family hotel, service in the restaurant was excellent and the kids had a great time in the Pool area. Had a lovely treatment in the Health Spa and the staff were very friendly. Bedrooms were modern with plenty of space and the room service was good. Will return soon again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddybozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I thought the hotel was more like a 3 star hotel due to consistent small problems. Saying that they were small problems but it did taint my overall view. Quite an average hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rootuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,687 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing