We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing service with really friendly & helpful staff”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed in the Newpark Hotel recently for a family wedding and was amazed by the service and the overall friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Right throughout the day, the staff were on hand with a smile and were willing to assist in whatever way they could.
The place is lovely anyway and the wedding was really topped off by the fantastic quality service we received - would totally recommend this hotel! Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maeveaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hi our names are David & Ann Marie Dann. We got married on 24th July 2010. We had our wedding reception in the Newpark Hotel in Kilkenny. The management & staff in the hotel were very very helpful. The woman over the weddings at the hotel is Yvonne Guilfoyle O'Brien. She was very very helpful with everything. The hotel was spotless. The food in the hotel was second to none. The bedrooms are lovely - they are very spacious. The honeymoon suite was gorgous. Everyone we have been talkin to about the wedding said that hotel was a perfect venue for a wedding reception. Everyone said that all the staff at the Newpark Hotel were so friendly & effient on the day. All the meals were very hot. Not one person had any complaints about any part of the meal being lukewarm or cold. Everyone said that they really enjoyed the meal & that everything was cooked perfectly - the meat was tender, the vegetables were cooked perfectly, the soup was lovely & warm etc. Our complements are expressed to the Chief & kitchen staff who provided a top class meal on our wedding day. Our wedding was a great success and that was all down to Yvonne Guilfoyle O'Brien & all staff in the Newpark Hotel. We would highly highly recommend the Newpark Hotel in Kilkenny to anyone who is thinking of having their wedding reception there.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weddingreviewRoscrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stayed in a family room for a few days along with our two kids aged under five. Everything fitted our needs very well - room was clean and spacious, found all the staff very friendly and helpful, and the food in both the bar and restaurant was great.
For the kids there is a kids club although we didnt actually make use of it, a very basic playground around the back which is ok for short stints for young kids, and the pool which includes a kids paddling pool. Again, was pleased with how clean everything was in the leisure centre.
Breakfast is worth a special mention as there was a really impressive spread of everything you could ask for and it was very well staffed, ensuring that there was never any waiting to get seated or served.
For our stay, the hotel seemed to be filled mostly with young families with kids ranging from toddlers up to early teens. So with so many kids wandering around at various times, at this time of year it may not be the the best venue for, say, a romantic couples break.
Overall very happy with everything about our stay. This hotel has clearly had a lot of investment and effort put into it in recent years and the results are very good. Would have no hesitation in returning there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheThickPlottens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We recently held our wedding reception in the Newpark Hotel and could not have been happier with the service they provided. From beginning to end they were extremely accommodating and professional. So many of our guests commented on how tasty the food was and the beautiful layout of the room. On the run up to the wedding and on the day itself the wedding coordinator and the managers on duty were a pleasure to work with, they really could not have been more helpful. It really is a fabulous wedding location with members of staff that are second to none.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kklas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I booked a weekend break for myself and my boyfriend in the Newpark for Eur 320 for the end of July. This was more than we would usually spend we couldn't have been more disappointed. The very outdated, room with horrible brown decor room was nothing short of depressing. It contained a small double and a single when I requested from reception to move to a room with just one bed she informed me that every room in the hotel had a double and single bed. She offered an executive room at the extra cost of Euro 30 a night. We viewed this room (the exact same as the superior but larger) and quickly declined. We then spoke to a manager who miracuosly managed to find a room with just one bed, the room was nicer but the bathroom was shocking, mould on the tiles etc. so this was a definite no. We then asked to be refunded (they took a charge on my laser) and to cancel the booking but the manager said no as the cancellation policy states you must cancel at least 48 hours prior to booking or they take the entire cost of the booking but they would do us a favour and just charge us Eur 160. I felt this was ridiculous as the hotel was not up to standard at all, it wasn't because we couldn't make it. I eventually (2.5 hours later) got the hotel manager to refund us all but Eur 100 and give us a dinner each. We left and booked into a deluxe room in hotel Kilkenny for 370 with breakfast and dinner and it was fabulous! It made up for the disaster of the Newpark. The reviews here are extremely misleading!! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squeak_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

What a fantastic hotel.From the minute we checked in ,it was a pleasure to stay at the Newpark Hotel.The rooms were spacious and clean and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.The food in the bar is excellent and inexpensive.The swimming pool area and outdoor jacuzzi are brilliant.Probably the best thing about the Newpark Hotel is the staff.Never saw an unhappy member of staff at any time,from the front desk to the bar staff behind the counter and those serving the food outside the counter to the chamber maids and the people in the leisure area,ye should be very proud of yourselves,because to see happy people sets a great atmosphere in any hotel.Every hotel in Ireland could learn a lesson from The Newpark Hotel and its staff.
Thanks for a lovely time and we hope to be back to see the fabulous city of Kilkeny.
Noel and Michelle O Connor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noel o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

From the welcome on arrival to the departure date, we received friendly, exceptional service at this lovely hotel in the heart of Kilkenny: nothing was ever too much trouble. Our tour had been planned as a four day leisure break for our local 'Young at Heart' retirement club. We were greeted after a long, tiring journey to some much appeciated tea and scones. Lovely! In fact the food throughout was equisite and appreciated by everyone; catering even for special dietary needs with some of our retired members. One of the most notable features was how the Guest Relation's team offered a gesture of goodwill in return for the cancellation of the music entertainment one evening: they offered us over a dozen beautifully wrapped up rafle prizes. I can highly recommend this hotel both in view of the facilities and the staff. In particular, we cannot thank Mary Bergin on the Guest Relation's team enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anndevaneyCastlebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £66 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a short stroll from the historic city of Kilkenny with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. Our hotel boasts 129 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, many rooms offer views over the luscious green gardens which extend onto the urban Fen walk, Newpark adventure trail, and wildlife farm all positioned within our 40 acres of peaceful parkland. Within each room category guests are provided with a multi-channel flat screen V, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water and complimentary WI-FI access. Scrumptious dining facilities await you in our fine dining Gulliver’s restaurant or choose from our casual dining options in the popular Scott’s Bar & Brasserie or our newly opened Terrace bar & outdoor restaurant. Step inside our Escape Health club and Aveda spa to unwind, take time out in the hands of our therapists or recharge your batteries in our 17m swimming pool, outdoor infinity pool or our relaxation and thermal suites. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing