We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Newpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newpark Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Recently stayed for one night mid-week in the Newpark and was not blown away by the hotel at all. We were placed in a room that was ages away from the hotel's reception, in what seemed like the old part of the hotel. The room was nice however, big bed but the phone was broke in the room, which really is something that they should have fixed a long time ago.

The biggest problem we had was that we could hear the bathroom that was situated directly above our bedroom, so when the shower was running it was like we were staying in their bathroom it was so loud.

Location wise it's ok, lots of parking outside however you wouldn't really walk it to the town at night, so a taxi is needed, costing about 8 - 10 euro but it would be a pleasant stroll in the day time

There was supposed to be free internet in every room, but we were so far from reception that the signal was not strong enough so we had barel a phone signal.

Overall it was a nice hotel, really nice staff on the check-in counter, who suggested a lovely restaurant in town for us to eat in, however I got the feeling that the less than average rooms were being kept for the Irish guests, while the nicer, more modern rooms were given to overseas visitors

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    536
    155
    73
    39
See reviews for
703
561
20
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We had booked this hotel for a weekend away, as we hadn't been anywhere away together we were really really looking forward to it, especially the pool! We arrived at the reception and gave our names to check in and were quietly told to take a seat and we both knew immediately that there was some sort of issue. About 5 mins later we were approached by the hotel manager... again knew that this was going to be a problem. He basically told us that there was no available room for us (keeping in mind,on our way in the car to the hotel i got a call from the hotel to confirm our booking and i informed them we were on our way?! We had to travel about 2 hours) He quickly told us that the guest that was staying in our room for the last few days had fallen ill and needed to stay in the room according to the local doctor...hmmmm... To be honest we were both quite shocked that this was happening. I just got the impression that this was a total excuse and someone had made a major boo boo and double booked the room. Anyway he explained that he would call other hotels in the area to get us in for the 2 nights and would cover the extra costs if there was any. It took in total about half an hour to 45mins to sort out and we just left to go to our new hotel. In fairness he was very apologetic and tried his best to work it out for us, he took my details and said he was sending us on a voucher of some sort for the hotel. It added such extra stress onto our stay in Kilkenny, we actually didnt get to our hotel for another hour after we left the Newpark because we don't know Kilkenny at all and got lost several times. Would seriously consider asking the question... how on earth is this hotel a 4 star?!? Can nobody do their jobs correctly?!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extremefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford, ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Came to stay at the newpark inn and was pleased with my stay, the staff and service was great. I have another business trip to kilkenny next week and will be staying here again. Enjoyed the breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickybuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Newpark hotel during the Christmas season in 2010. We choose the Newpark originally because of the price and location to the city and that's about all it had going for it. There was nothing bad about the hotel, but there wasn't anything that set it apart from the others. The Newpark is within walking distance to many great Kilkenny attractions, including Kilkenny castle, and has many restaurants and pubs close by as well. I would recommend the Newpark if you are just looking for a place to stay (as we were) but if you are looking for more than that with this hotel, than you may want to look elsewhere. Our stay in this hotel was simply, average.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feenix902110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

The Newpark Hotel is a lovely comfortable hotel, surrounded by lovely views from the back of the hotel, but in a great spot for ease of access to Kilkenny city centre and all the surrounding villages. Lots to see and do in Kilkenny. The staff were friendly, courteous and mostly Irish which was a lovely change from some of the big hotel chains I've stayed at. They have great conference facilities as well as comfortable leisure facilities, so it has the best of both worlds. Their fitness centre & pool are a great asset but mostly I liked the comfortable family feel to the hotel, a home from home with 5 star service. I look forward to having time to try out the spa treatments on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelic-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I was pleasantly suprised by the hotel as we got a very good deal on a 2 night stay. While the hotel is not of 4 star standard, it does not charge 4 star prices either.
We stayed in the classic room, which is the basic one. It was quite spacious with a double and single bed, table and 2 chairs, and was very comfortable.
The outdoor infinity pool was amazing to relax in, overlooking a large oak tree in the garden.
The check in staff were quite friendly, but we found the service in the dining room to be quite poor. I guess this was the only flaw in our stay and was a bit disappointing as we had made a decision to have dinner in the hotel on our second night instead of going in to town.
Overall though, we did enjoy our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Stayed here at the weekend with a large extended family group and was delighted with every aspect of the stay. We had a large family room in the new wing which were beautifully fitted out and very spacious, modern and clean. Lovely balcony overlooking the grounds and vitality pool.
The staff were at all times extremely attentive and helpful. Fast and easy check in, no room hassles, able to help with all our requests.
We ate in the bar one night and in the restaurant the second night. We had breakfast both mornings also and various snacks, coffees etc over the course of the weekend. Every meal was delicious and they also offer a decent kids menu, ideal for the younger members of our group.
The leisure facilities were spotless and beautifully finished. We all enjoyed the pool, on several occasions and the outdoor pool was gorgeous, just the right place to be on a cold winters day! I also had a treatment in the Aveda spa onsite, and was delighted with that.
We used the inhouse babysitter during our stay and that was most successful, she was lovely and the children settled well with her giving us a chance to relax downstairs.
The hotel is slightly out of the town but not much, we could have walked it if we had been so inclined!
I have stayed in other family hotels in Kilkenny and I must say this is the first one I would come back to if I were returning to the area. The general consensus amongst the group was that it was an ideal location for our weekend away and everyone was very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newpark Hotel

Property: Newpark Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amind 20 acres of parkland yet only a short stroll from the the historic city with its rambling streets and beautiful castle. State of the art conference and event facilities with wonderful gardens and natural day light. Scrumptious dining in Gullivers restaurant and delicious bar food in the popular Scotts Bar. Step inside our Escape Health club and spa which is sanctuary of pure indulgence, where time is left at the door of the Aveda health club and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Newpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing