We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but improvements needed”
Review of Club House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
1 review
“Quaint but improvements needed”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed in the ClubHouse for one night in May on a voucher. There is a car park at the back which was perfect for customers. No complaints there. The receptionist was very efficient and offered to have our bags carried to room. A nice touch.
There were plenty of creaky stairs on way to room with some very dated carpet that needs to be upgraded. The place could do with a lick of paint.
The room was very clean and well presented. The TV choice of channels was very poor in my opinion and should be upgraded.

We had one evening meal included. The menu we were offered was fine for me but did not offer enough choice for my partner. We also received mashed potato without being asked for any preferences which was a bit poor. The service was ok without being special. We did feel that there was no atmosphere in restaurant. It was half full and felt like a morgue. Maybe some background music if you feel conscious that you can hear everyone else's conversation.
The bar was quiet with the bar man being professional though again the lack of atmosphere was notable..
The night porter is a lovely gentleman and was very facilitating to us. Great staff member attitude to have.
Overall the hotel staff were quite good but I think some improvements could be made to hotel itself without compromising the old time feel to the place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallorca6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    100
    69
    36
    37
See reviews for
37
123
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hotel was like going back in time to the 1950s, terrible hotel. Whilst the staff were very helpful no amount of cleaning was going to make this hotel nice. the corridors were like staying in a prison and the bathrooms seemed as if they would fall apart at any moment.
The sheets felt like they had been being used since the day the hotel opened. The breakfast was a half hearted attempt at a fry. The only positive is the location, however that just meant that there was noise and people coming and going all night long. The pictures on their website were very generous, really didnt look like that in real life!
Compared to other hotels in Kilkenny which cost the same price I would not reccommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Dont, or if so ask for the room with the double and single as the twin rooms were tiny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoe o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at the club house & it was a very enjoyable stay. Its location is so central & there was parking for the car. The staff were friendly which adds to the charm. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel on the first night, service was great. Breakfast choice was fine, again staff very friendly. The hotel is 200 years old & it has that vintage feel to it. Our room was clean, comfy & cosy. The only small thing was the shower temperature had a mind of its own, This is a great little spot as its a great location. Kilkenny has so much to offer especially the people, there wasn't one place we went that we didn't get a smile.

Room Tip: We didn't see a lift & some rooms have a lot of steps to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here for easter break,sunday and monday night and hotel though old is full of charm.Rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable.I have to complement all staff we met,very friendly and helpful.Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice.The hotel is in a great location and we loved the city and hope to return soon and stay here on next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Certainly not as bad as some people have written on here.
We have just spent 2 nights down here with a group of 16 lads.
The place is as old as the hills and does have musty smell but its not that bad, just an old building but its quaint.
The staff are grand and friendly. Breakfast is perfect, people on here were complaining about a greasy breakfast but that's what you get when you order fried food isn't it.
The rooms old and a bit dull and the plumbing probably needs an upgrade too but they were spotless clean and the beds are comfortable. TV just has local stations so fairly small choice of viewing. The bathrooms arent great, clean but the plumbing needs maintenance.
The residents bar is great crack and Olly behind the bar is some man. Sound as a pound he kept all of us happy. Overall if I was going to Kilkenny again with a group of lads id stay here, if I was coming with me wife i'd probably stay somewhere else due to the plumbing problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bohsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, and share your thoughts with other travellers. I am always happy to receive feedback from our guests as we use it to continually improve our product and service.

I was very happy to hear that in general you enjoyed your weekend away, and that Ollie looked after you well in the bar. I was however disappointed to read that you had issues with your plumbing and i can assure you that my maintenance department are investigating the issue.

I very much appreciate you writing your review and bringing this issue to my attention so that we can rectify any plumbing issues for any future guests.

I look forward to welcoming you to the Club House Hotel again in the future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed in this wonderful hotel last weekend just for one night and i have to say that is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels that I have been. Although the rooms are nothing to write home about as regards decor they are warm, clean and very cosy! The staff are superb and were very helpful and could not do enough for us. So if you like an old world experience with plenty of charm you can not go wrong with this hotel. A plus side it is close to all the local pubs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinn186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and enjoyed the old world charm and atmosphere of the Hotel. We always strive to maintain this throughout the hotel, and also try to reflect this with the genuine friendly welcome and service from our staff.

We really appreciate you sharing your views with other travellers, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Warm Regard,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Club House Hotel is a great place to stay for a weekend away. The service was excellent, the room was clean and warm, the bed was massive and so comfy. We came in very late after being out on the town and went straight to the bar the first night and had great craic with the bar man, getting the history about the Hotel and Kilkenny, he really knew his stuff. Really loved the atmosphere in the hotel, I would recommend this hotel to all my friends, I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car0line91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubkk, General Manager at Club House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the vintage surrounds of the hotel, and that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. I really appreciate you recommending us to your friends, and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the future,

Warm Regards,

Ian Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club House Hotel

Property: Club House Hotel
Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Club House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing traditional hospitality with modern day luxuries, The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is a charming family run hotel in the heart of Medieval Kilkenny City. This magnificent 18th Century Kilkenny Hotel maintains a 210 year old traditional of effortless comfort hospitality and efficiency. The Club House Hotel Kilkenny is located in a quiet area on Patrick Street, just around the corner from the famous Kilkenny Castle & Design Centre and less than a minutes walk from shopping, bars, restaurants, nightclubs and attractions making it the ideal place to stay for your visit to Kilkenny. Complimentary Wireless Internet Access is also available in certain areas of the Club House Kilkenny Hotel as well as complementary onsite carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club House Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Club House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing