We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient Kilkenny Jewel”
Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #34 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2007

I had a wonderful week in Kilkenny made more so by the comfortable and clean Celtic House on Michael Street where I was warmly welcomed by Sheila and John, friends of owners Angela and John Byrne who were away on holiday. Sheila and John looked after the B&B with such care and concern, one would think they owned it. They were lovely to chat with and Sheila was knowlegeable about the City and the surrounding area. The Celtic House is in an excellent location on a quiet street away from the noise and business of the town center, yet within easy walking distance of buses, phone boxes, internet cafes, restaurants, shopping, and attractions. I had a small room with a queen size bed, a TV , view of the castle, the thosel, and the catherdrals! The bed and pillows were comfortable, the bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. The common areas including the breakfast room were clean and attractively furnished. Breakfast choices include cereal and fresh fruit, juice, or a full Irish plate, coffee or tea.
I highly recommend this B&B, but do call ahead to avoid disappointment. It is a busy place and even in November, off season, it filled quickly.
Jody, Yonkers, New York, USA

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Angelwings613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2007

Hello,

We stayed at the Celtic House in Kilkenny in May 2007 and it was wonderful. About a 5 minute walk to the town centre. The breakfasts were great. It was super easy to book via email and a quick phone call (I'm in Canada). Ensuite bathrooms were new and clean. We had a cheery yellow room with a great sunny window. The breakfast room is also sunny and a nice place to start your day.

You get a choice between full Irish breakfast and continental with fruits, cereal and yogurt.

Loved it and would go back again. Kilkenny is beautiful.

~Lucy

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank onlylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2007

Very good location. Far enough away from town center so that it was quiet and you didn't have to drive through town (depending on which direction you're entering the place), but close enough that you could stroll anywhere. Parking is secured on the premise. Place is modern, purpose built. Our room was big enough for a twin, a queen, and a double futon. Bathroom could use updating. No toiletries. Place was clean. Owners were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was adequate with continental being choice of cereal and fruit or with full Irish plate.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

My husband and i stayed at this bnb and couldnt get away faster.Hosts were Friendly but not for long.

We are not ones to complain and bad mouth people, were even reluctant to write this review but after much thought decided we would to spare others from being ripped off and having a bad experience.

Short and sweet- Overpriced(for the standard of rooms and breakfast),Dark rooms( the 'new' block of house), Dirty,old sheets and towels (bedcovers especially), cold breakfasts(served by not-so-happy-looking staff), noisy neighbourhood(can hear everything outside),and as we mentioned above-the 'hospitality'seen at your greeting will not be long lived as the hosts are not too happy with guests who express unhappiness about anything-and WILL NOT ADMIT any faults without making you feel bad.Do NOT expect any discounts for any disasters and if we were you-look elsewhere please.

Stayed: May 2006
8  Thank lovetotravelloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

Our experience at the Celtic House was unfortunately not a very good one, which was a real shame because the premises and the owners were both lovely, but the overall experience was let down by other things, some major, some minor.

We arrived at Celtic House for a 2 night stay, tired and hungry after a flight and a long 3 hour drive from Dublin Airport through the Friday evening traffic.
We walked in, happy we had at last arrived, only to be told that there had been a death in the family and that our room (which had been secured with a credit card) had been given to someone else, and we were being moved to alternative accommodation. We then had to follow John (the owner) in the car and drive to another Guest House that he had booked us into. I asked him why he had not told us prior to our arrival (the death happened on Wednesday). He said he did not think of that. I was unhappy on 2 counts, firstly I take a lot of time and energy in picking accommodation that suits us. This alternative was not as central and I do not like the decision on where we are staying to be taken out of our hands with no prior warning. When I was booking it was a close choice between the Celtic House and Lawlors. If I had been told of the booking problem, I would simply have booked Lawlors instead as they still had availability. As things stood I was given no opportunity to select my own accommodation. John left us outside the Guest House and told us to ring him in the morning if we were not happy.

As it turned out we were not happy, there were many minor things but the worst was on returning to the Guest House after our night out and the whole house smelled of cooking fat after the elderly landlady had been cooking with the kitchen door wide open. It was only a small building, so the smell permeated through the whole house and into our room. We had to open the windows and sit in our coats on an extremely cold November evening, until the smell receded a little. The Landlady told us there had not been a death, and that it was a busy weekend and John had just overbooked. We have no way of knowing the real truth.

After breakfast we telephoned John, and said we were not happy, He told us to come back to the Celtic House for our second night. Then followed an extremely embarrassing experience with the Landlady who had been told we were staying for 2 nights. We then moved to the Celtic House and were shown to room 4, which was lovely. It was not on the top floor (which I had agreed when booking – following reports of noisy downstairs room from other reviewers), but at this point we were willing to accept anything. It was quite noisy, we could hear every movement in the corridors and the room upstairs because of the wooden floors. Luckily we were up early so this didn’t bother us too much.

In the afternoon I tried to have a shower but it was cold, on asking about that I was told they switch the hot water off every day between 12 and 3, so there is no hot water available between those times. I ended up having to wash my hair fully dressed, standing half in and half out of the shower cubicle.

On returning to our room in the evening it was stone cold, John came to our room with extra pillows (the third time we had asked that day) and then showed us that we had to turn the radiator on full before it would come on. He said it was normal for guests to have to turn their own heating on and off, not something I have experienced before. Again we had to sit in our room with our coats on (seemed to be a recurring theme of the weekend) until it warmed up.

We told John we were unhappy with the overall experience; that he had moved us to inferior accommodation, without giving us the opportunity to do anything else (he then told us he had rung us and left a message, which was a direct contradiction to what he said the previous night - needless to say there was no message when we returned home – so why did he say he called??), that there had been no hot water when it was needed, having to ask 3 times for extra pillows and then having to sit in a cold room because the heating had been turned off. We are not fussy or hard to please people, but these things seem to be fairly basic. We let him know we were unhappy and left it to his discretion as to whether to do something about it or not.

Breakfast was nice in the morning. On checking out, John made no mention of the conversation the previous evening and charged us full price, which we paid without further comment. We had made our opinions clear and he had chosen to ignore it. I felt it was a shame, it left a really sour taste in what should have been a lovely stay.

I do understand that sometimes problems occur, but I feel it would have been simple to let us know and let us make our own decision about what to do. As it is, we would not return to the Celtic House as we could not be sure of getting what we booked.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at Celtic House. Angela and John were very accommodating hosts and treated us royally with good recommendations for restaurants and a wonderful breakfast. Angela is a very talented lady and the location is wonderful. We would heartily recommend this to anyone. The negative comments we've read previously have nothing to do with the management but rather with boorish and inconsiderate guests. We loved it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheelvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuziR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 74 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breagagh View
Breagagh View
#44 of 74 in Kilkenny
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#7 of 74 in Kilkenny
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing