We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central but not really comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #27 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central but not really comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a really weird welcome at the Celtic House Bed & Breakfast, which is near the citycentre of Kilkenny. I rang the doorbell and a woman answered, than I realised that I was observed by a CCTV. I told her that we were searching a room and suddenly the door were opened bei a man. He told us the price and wanted to cash up the money, but we asked to see the room first. He led us to a separate building, the floors were fitted with a CCTV system, it felt a little bit like "Big brother is watching you". Our room was located in the cellar, so there was only little light through the cellar window. But the room had a good size, had a bathroom and both were clean.
The breakfast-room was light and modern furnished. The breakfast was okay, we had Irish Breakfast, Toast, Soda Bread and jam. The hosts were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    60
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
110
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Excellent b&b with charming hosts. We visited from Canada in August of 2012. Superb location on a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the town centre. Our room was on the top floor of the house and was quite spacious with a fine view. The private secure car park behind the house was most appreciated. Once we parked our vehicle we had no further need of it since everything we wanted to see in Kilkenny was within walking distance of Celtic House. We had the pleasure of meeting our hostess Angela at breakfast. We were quite smitten with her gracious hospitality and we were delighted to purchase a copy of her novel "Not Forgotten." We enjoyed reading Angela's book and have happily shared it with our friends in Canada. We will gladly stay at Celtic House again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay WI
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Very good BB. We were greeted with a big smile and a map with directions to anything we were looking for in Kilkenny. Private parking, a quiet location that is an easy walk to all points of Kilkenny. Good breakfast and very friendly people- John even sprayed the off our very dirty car window.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RamblingBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I've been to this b&b a few times and it has never failed to impress!! From the moment you enter the door, your greeted by John and Angella Byrne with a warm and welcoming smile.

Located a "skip, hop and a jump" from the town center, this b&b is located just far away enough to have a wonderfully peaceful night... yet close enough to enjoy the the restaurants and pubs near by.
There is a very homely feel to the b&b, the rooms are tastefully decorated and most importantly the beds are very comfy. Breakfast is freshly cooked within a few minutes of sitting down in the dining room with a great selection of cerials, toast, yoghurts and juices to be tucking into, whilst waiting.
You can have a wondefull natter with Angella, whom has a wide variety of skills to add to her successful business, which are evident all over the walls with her art work. And to top it off Angella has started publishing her own books, which as my sister will attest to, has been a run away success! as my sister read the whole book in less than a day.

All in all, I can not fault this b&b at all!! John and Angella have even tried helping with our family tree / ancestry searches which has gone far and beyond what you would ever expect strangers to do!!
Undoubtedly, we will be coming back again!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are suitable!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were greeted with a warm welcome and helpful hands. The house was in a great location, only a 5 minute walk to downtown and 2 minutes to pub row. There is a small car park behind the house that is fenced in, so you don't have to worry about your car while you stay. The room was cozy, a bit tight in places, but good. Breakfast was good and served just as you want it. John and Angela were great hosts and so down to earth.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaRock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eganville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Celtic house b&b was a last minute decision as we were tired and did not have time to check trip advisor for b&b's. We got in late afternoon to Kilkenny and stumbled across this place, really close to downtown and the hosts were just lovely. The home is clean, the room was large as well as the bathroom (we had #5), the view was awesome. We had private secured parking out back and the breakfast was good would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaudreuil, Qc, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We arrive by car to this B&B and had no problems finding this place. The parking is secure and private, so we didn't have any trouble leaving the car there. Parking had enough space.

The room we stayed in was a triple room, with 3 single beds. It was ok. The room was clean, and had enough space for 3 girls and their luggages.

They ask us upon arrival which sort of breakfest we wanted, as they have a couple of options and are very flexible. The breakfest room is located close to the back entrance and is easy to find. They have a lot of small tables so no problem finding one.

Lot of restaurants, pubs close to the B&B and around 15-20 mins walking from Kilkenny Castle and the town center, for more activities and pubs.

Keep in mind that it's a B&B and not an hotel, but I'll recommand this place without worries and would probably come back there next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#9 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#41 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Property: Celtic House B&B
Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing