We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Celtic House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic House B&B
Ranked #33 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The positives: great location; bed was comfortable; hosts were friendly; place was clean; good price for Kilkenny; parking
The negatives: place is a little dated (for example the tiny old school TV could do with an upgrade); no lounge/sitting area to relax in in the evening (there is a kitchen to make tea but it is not a place to linger for a while to read the newspaper); breakfast was only okay- my fry was a little cold (and some pudding or mushrooms would have been nice), limited choice of breakfast options and while it helps the hosts with planning, it is not great having to give a time you will have breakfast at and state what you want when you are checking in.
All in all it is fine; perfectly adequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theirishleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Once again we stayed here. Only this time Lisa (Angela & John;s) daughter was here to greet us. Got a lovely warm welcome from her, just like u would from her parents. Every thing was perfect. Lisa was very friendly and helpful. Lovely room. Good breakfast and a lovely cosy fire lighting in the dining room when we got up. Look forward to another stay there some time.

Room Tip: No hair dryers in room. But ask before u got the room and they'll give u one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryH4178YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The welcoming host let us check in early and park our car in the locked car park. The location could not be better. Very short walk to shops and resteraunts, castle, and cathedral. The view from room 6 was fantastic and breakfast was very nice. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the top floor has fantastic views of the castle and cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

John was very friendly when we arrived. We were able to park around the corner of the B&B which was a resident's parking area.
The room was disappointing, not at all like the pictures on the website.
It was very cold at night time - not sure if we didn't turn on the heating properly or if it was switched off during the night as it worked for us earlier in the day. The bathroom has no heating.
The Go Ireland website states that all rooms have TV with DVD player, but this was not the case.
There was just a very small tv which was too high up to be able to watch.
I didn't mind as I was not there to watch TV, but it should not be advertised as such.
Breakfast was not great, the hash browns tasted old and dry (not freshly made) and the scrambled eggs / full Irish were not very tasty.
I wouldn't recommend this B&B, the only thing which is good is the central location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hholiday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We loved this place! The owners John and Angela were so lovely I felt like they were family! Our room was delightful, our bed comfortable and loved the fact we could make our own coffee in our room. The location is quiet, and a lock up car park. John and Angela have plenty of great advice to help you find fun things to do in Kilkenny. We had a full Irish Breakfast in the morning and they were very accomodating with our children who were a little fussy with their choices. Great place, great hosts, loved it and would recommend it to anyone. In fact, we overheard some people talking to the hosts and so we spoke with them after and they said they visit Ireland regularly and it was the third time they had stayed with them they loved the place so much. We have stayed at other B&B's that have not had as nice facilities or hosts at Celtic House. We hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

First the good news - the owners, Angela and John were warm and inviting. John let us into and out of the carpark with no problem at all. Angela was lovely and served a very nice breakfast. The B&B is located within a very easy walk of all the restaurants and attractions.

The bad news - we had the worst bed(s) we've ever experienced (room #2). It looked and felt like just the box springs. There was a twin and a double in the room, and my husband and I couldn't even share the bed as it sagged so much in the middle. The carpet was dirty and stained. We almost left and found another place because the bed was so awful that it caused my husband's back to ache.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I;ll keep it short and to the point. Angela & John are lovely hosts. Very welcoming and friendly. Place lovely and clean, Lovely breakfast. Great location. Few minutes walk to town centre, and the castle. Look forward to our next stay in January. Over all made fell very welcome from the time we arrived til time we left, with a hug from Angela :) I would recommend this BnB to any one looking for a nice place to stay. Only down fall no hair dryers in room. But ask and u shall receive :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryH4178YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
0.3 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#45 of 74 in Kilkenny
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#10 of 74 in Kilkenny
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 74 in Kilkenny
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic House B&B

Address: Celtic House 18 Michael Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £77 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing