We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newlands Country House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newlands Country House B&B
Ranked #10 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

A wonderfuly B&B located just outside of Kilkenny. Took us a little bit to find the house, but that was more our issue of not reading the directions correctly that we brought with. The house is lovely and our room was spacious and overlooked the back of the property, which was a pasture with a horse grazing. At check-in, Nicola shared valuable information on where the best place to park when going into Kilkenny and best places to eat. Breakfast was prepared by Eamonn who was also balancing cooking with watching the children. I would fully recommend staying at Newlands Country House - two thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmp618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    34
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely night at Newlands Country house. The GPS struggled slightly to find it, as it is outside of Kilkenny centre, but a lovely retreat once found? Very clean, well appointed, warm & welcoming. the Irish breakfast was ample and kept us going all day.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kellcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I dropped down to Kilkenny for the weekend & for the Kilkenomics festival. A friend recommended Newlands Country House & I can see why. Simply put its the best B&B I've ever stayed in, bar none.

The room was spotless, spacious and the decor excellent. Clearly there had been serious thought put into the interior design unlike some other B&B's I could mention. I have a bad back and find it very difficult to get a good nights sleep but Newlands have the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Felt fresh as a daisy the next day.

Breakfast was excellent and offers tons of options if you have a family with varied tastes & the owners were the friendliest people you'll ever meet. Its what you'd expect of Irish hospitality but unlike so many Newlands actually lives up to expectations on all fronts.

I'd have expected to pay an arm and a leg but even on the value for money front they excelled. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for the third time whilst attending the Kilkenomics festival 2013. This has been consistently one of the best places in Ireland that I have ever stayed and I could not recommend it enough to others. The house is kept in pristine condition, the freshly cooked breakfast is second to none and I have yet to come across a hotel with beds as comfortable. The hosts could not be more helpful and the value for money is fantastic. I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We toured Ireland for just under two weeks, staying at bed & breakfast spots throughout the country. Newlands Country House was wonderful - great room, delicious breakfast, very helpful and friendly innkeepers. Only snag was finding the place - it wouldn't come up on GPS and wasn't really near the city center of Kilkenny. However, once we phoned, Nicola was extremely helpful and her directions were great. Only issue was the need to travel by car into town - we'd planned on staying somewhere we could walk easily to pubs at night, but otherwise great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed on this beautiful b&b with my two kids Nicola the owner was very helpful with things to do . The shower in the room was amazing beds so comfortable breakfast wonderful selection of fruit on display all and all great stay definitely will be back .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siofret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We landed in Dublin that morning and drove through to Kilkenny by country roads. We were tired
and ready for a rest. We found it at Newlands. Great place, great service, very nice room, great breakfast. Hostess was great, especially when we found out that our vouchers had been issued by a travel agency that had gone bankrupt the day before. Good location as we were able to visit the Kilkenny Castle next morning and were close drive (even on the Irish country roads) to Rock of Cashel. Highly recommend, definite 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
6.8 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.8 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Country House B&B

Property: Newlands Country House B&B
Address: Newman House Lower New Street | Danesfort, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newlands Country House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Newlands Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing