We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brog Maker Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brog Maker Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed one night. Room was dated, but the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very enjoyable and what was great was the last serving was 11am. The staff were very friendly, and will book there again. The price was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    16
    8
    16
See reviews for
5
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
offaly
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed for two nights. We loved the bar and the food was good. Staff were really friendly and generally there was a nice athmosphere in the hotel. We didn't expect much in relation to the accommodation because it is only a one star but to be perfectly honest I don't think the rooms are very well cleaned. Tiles in bathroom were dirty and stained. There is huge room for improvement. I was surprised that the room wasn't cleaned during our stay at all. The breakfast was good if you enjoyed fried food. I didn't and was looking forward to at least a semi healthy option. There was none really. No healthy cerial - only choice was cornflakes or rice crispies. I can't eat either. There was no fruit or yogurt. The orange juice was carton juice which I hate. I guess I don't expect them to have a proper juicer in a one star hotel but there is no excuse for not having other cerials/fruit/yogurts. This is a regretfull but honest review all for the sake of a bit of effort.

Room Tip: This hotel is a great place for a weekend away with a large group of friends where room comfort is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

No complaints. Nice choice in the menu down stairs. Everyone enjoyed the stay and I look forward to booking again should we head to Kilkenny for a another weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

The accomodiation was down right filthy, the dust on the carpets (next to the skirting) was unbelieveable, it was white. Carpets were grotty in general, Spare pillow was a disgrace, linen on the beds was crisp and looked fine, top blanket was again in need of a boil.
Our window didn't lock, bathroom was ok, nice tiles, no light though and although we asked for it to be fixed ( a new bulb most likely) we were ignored.
The door handles had bene replaced with handles but although the shape was very different they hadn't bothered to paint the doors. I saw a cleaner with a hoover and just cannot believe it was ever used.
Nice bar downstairs, good menu, huge portions and well priced, bit greasy but it was fine.
With the bedrooms being so dirty you'd wonder if the kitchen was the same and that takes from the meal.
Give the place a thorough clean and paint the doors, then it would be ok.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Really nice rooms. They were spotless. Bar staff were really nice and chatty. Also had tons of answers for every question we had about places to see. The mixed grill is amazing!! If I'm ever back in Kilkenny, this is where I'm going.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steakandchipsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Dull rooms ,not dusted in months. Bathroom had hair all over the floor , i had to pull lumps of ??hair out of the bath so the water could run out.
Entrance a mess . I repeat dont touch this one
We would have walked right out when we got there but we were exhausted and needed to rest

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed here in March 06, and i got to say it wasn't spectacular.

But on the recommendation of a friend who stayed there lately we returned again for a weekend in October 08.

What a turn around, the management have definately given it a complete over haul.

bedroom was bright and clean,

Restaurant was the highlight, top class menu, with multiply choices. and very reasonably priced.

Had planned on the heading down the town to some of the more well known kilkenny city night life pubs.
But we just couldn't leave the bar, friendly bar staff full of chat, jokes and banter.

Locals willing to chat and talk about anything from sport to politics.

a most enjoyable weekend.
We'll definately return again.

  • Liked — beautiful food & clean rooms
  • Disliked — having to leave and return to work
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dustyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brog Maker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brog Maker Hotel

Property: Brog Maker Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Brog Maker Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing