We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If its value you are looking for-this is your place!”
Review of Brog Maker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brog Maker Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If its value you are looking for-this is your place!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

A group of 22 of us stated at the brog maker for a hen party last weekend and I felt I needed to comment on the establishment.
From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by a lovely lady at the desk and given the keys to our rooms. From there nothing was a problem for the staff- they just couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasurable.
We had a lovely dinner, in our own little area,free to play hen games and the rest. The next morning the breakfast we got would feed the four thousand and it was lovely-and included in the price!
Admittedly it's not up to the four seasons standard but the rooms were clean and tidy. The bed linen was clean, as were the towels provided.
Overall for such a busy little place, little fault could be found. I would definitely reccomend it to budget groups looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    16
    8
    16
See reviews for
5
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We ate here today and the food was excellent. The portions of meat were generous and the staff were very prompt. It's such a pity that I had to send back a dirty milk jug that was coated with scum inside and what looked like the reminants of sour milk. I requested a clean jug of milk for my tea & a very pleasant staff member promptly replace my jug, which was still dirty. I didn't have the heart to ask again. The glasses and cutlery looked as if it hadn't been washed at a high enough temperature. The light switches beside us were filthy and the conservatory area where we sat looked like it badly needed a good scrubbing with hot soapy water from ceiling to floor. The food was still very good though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank redhenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

bog standard accomadation quaint decore in rooms otherwise perfect (not posh at all)
bar and smoking area grand, lovely staff,EXCELLANT FOOD, 10-15 minute walk to town a straight ahead or taxi for 2 euro each great value,
*** drink in the left bank, matt the millers,poc fada,eat in Langtons and nite club in langtons, killkenny is easy to follow basically 1 main strip, what a laugh of a spot for a hen night, really buzzing place,

Room Tip: All basic but fine for the average person out to party!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cork-2-Kilkenny-HEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 of my mates stayed here last September and all we can say is top class hospitality. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. All the staff are really friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Yeah it's not the Ritz but it doesn't pretend to be. Ideal for groups on a budget just looking for a good time in Kilkenny. Owner and his wife (names escape me now) go out of their was to make sure you enjoy your stay and the food is good here too so book without fear you might even go home with an all-Ireland medal too.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Myself and 5 of my family and friends stayed there as part of a hen party package and from the word go this venue is a travesty. The exterior of the Guesthouse is shabby and in need of some care ( paint at least if nothing else!!!). There is an entrance marked guests but this door was closed and the only entry into the premises was through the bar/restaurant and it was embarrassing and cumbersome as you feel like you are disturbing the patrons frequenting the bar or having their meals. A member of staff brought us through to the Guesthouse reception area from the bar but be warned as you are brought down a corridor that houses the toilets for the pub and the stench coming from this area is quite unpleasant. Upon check in we were just handed the key to our room and told the number and we had to actually ask ourselves where we had to go as the member of staff did not volunteer the information. The decor is very very outdated and gives the impression from the lobby up that there is no great desire to create a good or clean impression from the word go. But then again if you happen to like big patterned wallpaper and big patterned carpet this will be right up your street. I don't even know where to begin with the condition of the rooms. Being part of a party of people we had a few different rooms and there were big issues with all of them. Stained carpets in all rooms, fag burns in carpet and sheets in smoking room. Filthy windows, televisions that were in the rooms with no plugs attached so you could only imagine what you wanted to watch as it would have been impossible to plug it in.......... good job in a way as the socket was broken!!!!!! Forget having a shower as the pressure was equal to a dripping tap!!!! Spare dirty pillows with NO PILLOW COVERS were in the closet on the dirty floor. Hot tap twisted all the way around to the right. Covering on the bath coming apart. Views ok from the front but from the back all you can see is what looks like a dump shed full of bedding and boarded up. Would really have to question the cleanliness of this venue in general as the following morning the "CLEAN" new towels were sitting in the corridor outside the rooms on the dirty carpet!!!! We were not told what time check out was nor was there any notification at the reception desk as to this either... There is no info in either the lobby or the rooms with anything or anywhere to go whilst in Kilkenny. The only information in the room was the fire route on the back of the doors. And now we get to the food......... Some of our group decided to have lunch ( we should have went somewhere else) the menu reads very well and looks appetizing however they served us rice that was extremely under cooked and there were hairs in another meal. On the plus side the chips are ok. Round off the whole thing with dirty glasses and the staff commenting on approaching the bar to change the glass that " they were the glasses from the breakfast and hadn't been cleaned yet". This was after 2 o'clock and breakfast finishes at 11??????? Another problem which might be fun if you are out drinking for the night is when you come back the fun you have by trying to figure out which key for which lock on the door will let you in!!!!!! Another thing that was not explained to any of our group.... All in all Kilkenny was a great spot to go drinking and socializing in but my advise would be to book into the Hotel Kilkenny which is directly opposite this venue. Unfortunately we had already paid for our accommodation with our hen package so did not foresee we would need to bring extra funds to book into a more pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Wicklow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Myself and my partner ate here last week, we both had a starter each and a main course, we were shocked at how excellent the food was as we normally would go to langtons. Very impressed, will def return this week! Great valu @ €25!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WicklowRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

This is a little gem of a place. A bit dated but is defo a worth a stay. All the staff where so nice could not do enough. Breakfast was lovely and all at a super price. Due for my stags soon and will defo try book this place. Would have no issue making a remmondation for this little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandsamforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
729 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
#14 of 18 in Kilkenny
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brog Maker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brog Maker Hotel

Property: Brog Maker Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Brog Maker Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brog Maker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing