We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brog Maker Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brog Maker Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for a hen party.
Found all the staff so helpful and friendly.The rooms are quite basic but when all you want is somewhere to rest your head its ideal. The food was gorgeous and such good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bquinn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    16
    8
    16
See reviews for
5
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co. Cork
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here last week for a wedding just outside town. Ideal. Great breakfast in the morning, handy parking, tea & coffee in the rooms and a walk from the town centre. The staff couldn't be more help. A pleasure to stay at a good price and great portions of good pub grub.

Room Tip: Location is perfect, not in the middle of town where it can get party mad late at night!! News agen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynchie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Myself & my husband are regular eaters here on a Sunday with our kids and I can honestly say that I've never been to a restaurant who finds it so hard to cook chips!! Usually I opt for the Sunday Roast with all the trimmings but on the few occasions (like yesterday) where I have been tempted by steak & chips I find that the chips are absolutely horrible. They are greasy, hard in the centre and rubbery looking on the outside. They are obviously chips that are cooked and reheated when needed. Vile is the only word to describe them. All other food is very tasty and service while rushed on a Sunday is generally friendly and pleasant however I would most definitely recommend that the chef learns the art of frying chips!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buglamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Called here for early dinner after it had been recommended by people at our B&B who had been attending the national ploughing competition. The restaurant was crowded and very busy with most of the tables being occupied but the two servers worked non-stop and our food & drinks were quickly served. I had a fairly substantial mixed grill at €13 and my partner had the Irish Stew at €10, which she stated was delicious and full of tender lamb. The round tables are far more sociable especially for larger groups and the chairs were very comfortable. Whilst the surroundings in the pub restaurant could not be described as sophisticated or luxurious they served honest food at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Ideal location for a stay in Kilkenny City, close to the center yet far enough away from the traffic and often boorish behavior. Rooms are reasonably priced and breakfast is very good, easy parking, free newspapers and a relaxed atmosphere makes this a recommended place to stay by me!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieFahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

A group of 13 stayed at the Brog Maker Hotel, Kilkenny, on My daughters hen Party,
Booked through an agent ,
On first impression from the outside, it looked ok.
But when you arrived in the reception , different story, old cupboards with the doors hanging off,
The rooms were small with marks on the walls,
A shower that just dribbled water,
The smell from the main entrance to the main dining room, were the men's toilets were, smelled something horrible.

The Beds sheets had brown stains on then, and the throw had nail varnish on then.
one of the beds was sank in the middle.
as we had a uneven number staying with us, she was given a camp bed, but charged for a room.
The walls are like paper, and can hear everyone and everything going on.
Grand for young people who want to have a good time an drink the week end away,

when in bed you could hear buzzing in your pillow

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

A group of us stayed in the Brogmaker a few weeks ago and were very impressed with it overall. We checked in early no problem. Basic rooms but very clean. Tea, coffee and biscuits in all rooms. Went downstairs and had lunch in the restaurant, fab food. Two courses only 9.95. Sauce on chicken mouthwatering. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar full for lunch, a lot of regulars. (always a good sign).Headed into town for a spot of shopping, planned on eating in town that night but after the lunch (huge portions) not a hope. Had drinks in the bar instead and we got finger food around 9.Chicken wings very tasty. No problem getting a late drink. Breakfast served until 11.30 next morning, again plenty of everything. Had a late check out, no extra charge. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cats047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brog Maker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brog Maker Hotel

Property: Brog Maker Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Brog Maker Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing