We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brog Maker Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brog Maker Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
ontario
1 review
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Dull rooms ,not dusted in months. Bathroom had hair all over the floor , i had to pull lumps of ??hair out of the bath so the water could run out.
Entrance a mess . I repeat dont touch this one
We would have walked right out when we got there but we were exhausted and needed to rest

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    16
    8
    16
See reviews for
5
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed here in March 06, and i got to say it wasn't spectacular.

But on the recommendation of a friend who stayed there lately we returned again for a weekend in October 08.

What a turn around, the management have definately given it a complete over haul.

bedroom was bright and clean,

Restaurant was the highlight, top class menu, with multiply choices. and very reasonably priced.

Had planned on the heading down the town to some of the more well known kilkenny city night life pubs.
But we just couldn't leave the bar, friendly bar staff full of chat, jokes and banter.

Locals willing to chat and talk about anything from sport to politics.

a most enjoyable weekend.
We'll definately return again.

  • Liked — beautiful food & clean rooms
  • Disliked — having to leave and return to work
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dustyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2008

I have stayed at the Brog Maker twice. Once by myself and once with 4 family members. The rooms were large & airy, whoever says they are small must have been drunk & fell into a closet. The bathtubs were a wonderful change from all of the small showers at the other places we stayed on our two week trip. The staff were incredibly welcoming. We loved the food & the beds were great. The first time I was there I was heading to London after my visit in Kilkenny and the owner gave me a lovely loaf of brown bread to take with me so I wouldn't get hungry in England. I can't wait to go back there this summer.

Stayed September 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank pique1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

Stayed in The Brog Maker for the 6th time on the 27th & 28th of October & we loved it! I cant understand how people are saying that the place is filthy? There was a cleaner there both mornings with clean towels & bed sheets & she was very friendly too.

The food is lovely especially the big breakfast with plenty of fresh orange juice to help cure a hangover! :)

The staff are great....We have to mention Denis the barman who entertained us all weekend! And Bobby the owner who gave us a round of drinks to 8 people because there was a slight mix up with our rooms.

We will be back again soon to stay here again, we just hope there will be some live music this time! Maybe Tomas Jackman (Acousticats) who is fantastic! We go to hear him everytime we stay in Kilkenny.

Posted By Martina & the gang from Waterford

  • Liked — Nice friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — No live Music
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GorgeousbutGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2007

I stayed in the Brog Maker last month. When I recommended the guesthouse for the weekend, my friend looked it up on trip advisor. I was suprised to see some of the reviews and decided to write about my weekend there. When my boyfriend and I arrived on Friday evening we checked in and had a meal in the restaurant. It was excellent so much so that we eat there again on the Saturday night. It was great after the long journey to have a restaurant which such good food so close at hand. The rooms were perfect and very clean. Above all though the staff were so nice and friendly. They did not seem to be able to do enough for us. They were also great in recommending what there was to do and see around the city. I hope this review can be helpful in deciding to stay in Kilkenny (which is a great city to visit.). I think some of your other members must have been very unlucky.

  • Liked — Great food and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location of check in area
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviahogan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leinster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2006

In the brog maker in September for a break to kilkenny had our dinner in the restaurant found the menu extensive staff were very friendly the food was fab The rooms were clean and spacious the bathroom was clean and big enough. Mark cant pull a point of guinness. the rooms were cleaned both days.All ready looking forword to our next visit to the brog maker.

  • Liked — location,food and staff
  • Disliked — close to main road
  • Tips/Secrets — try midweek
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jarluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2006

This was my 2nd trip to this place-1st was bad, it just got worse.Whatever they're paying the cleaner its too much..the toilet leaked and left pools of urine behind it dried in, there was a radiator in the bathroom which was inhabited by an unnatural collection of webs and spiders, the shower hose was so blocked only a dribble of water emerged leaving us in fear of legionaires, bedroom was only vaccumed in the centre, lamp bulb and socket was wrenched out and left in dressingtable drawer???, should I even go on...okay, the sheets were snow white and pressed, the beds were comfortable , the towel s were washed but it could have been better.
The bar was fun and friendly and the food was lovely and really good value, breakfast was hit and miss, we were waved vaguely in the direction of cereal on a table in the middle but we had no cutlery to fill bowls with, this was delivered with a sigh when pointed out , then there was no juice in the jug, the breakfast arrived cooked and was very good but we had to request toast and coffee.
Verdict: this establishment needs a good overhaul and steamclean by a full team of professional contract cleaners then maybe some kind of customer relations course, it was impossible to find someone to check you in or out. Its good value but you really would need a quirky sense of humour and certainly not be hygiene conscious!!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevieDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brog Maker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brog Maker Hotel

Property: Brog Maker Hotel
Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Brog Maker Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing