We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hibernian Hotel, hotel with real character in the heart of Kilkenny city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hibernian Hotel, hotel with real character in the heart of Kilkenny city”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Travelled around Ireland for last 7 days and this hotel was by far our favourite. We chose this hotel for its location, right in the heart of the city & just 2 minutes walk from Kilkenny Castle. We loved everything about the hotel, lovely room with classic traditional furniture & decor. We noticed that the décor in a lot of hotels around Ireland was very bland, modern & minimalistic but somewhat characterless. On the other hand this hotel is full of character, beautiful paintings located throughout the hotel and gorgeous leather furniture in the reception area and bar. We arrived on Friday and it was a bonus to find out that that there was a comedy festival (Cats Laugh Comedy Festival) taking place over the weekend. The receptionist on duty couldn’t have been more helpful on check-in and even helped us to get tickets to a show which was hilarious. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, City Bar & Grill on Friday night & again it was the best meal we had in Ireland over the 7 days. Try the Rack of Lamb, it is sensational as was the Duck Pate. We heard afterwards that the restaurant in the hotel is renowned in the city for its food & friendly staff, we can see why. On the Saturday we strolled across the street to Kilkenny Castle which is absolutely worth a visit, the sun was shining in Kilkenny on Saturday so it was lovely just to chill out reading a book in the castle gardens for the afternoon. We had lunch also in the hotel in Hibernian Bar, they have lovely seating area outside, lunch was delicious, we had Smoked Chicken Salad and Hibernian Seafood Chowder.

We also stayed on Saturday night, Kilkenny was very busy due to the festival and it was a holiday weekend in Ireland also so the bars were very busy. We went to Left Bank (what an amazing bar) & Kytlers Inn and ended up back in Morrisons which is the late bar and disco in the hotel which is opened until 2am. Perfect hotel if you want great location, fantastic food, friendly staff and good nightlife, not a hotel for families or if you are looking for a quiet getaway. We fell in love with Kilkenny city & this hotel so we will definitely be back for another visit.

Mrs Lek

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lekthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    226
    98
    48
    41
See reviews for
93
360
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The Wayside Inn Golf Society (Cork) - 14 members -played golf in Gowran Park and stayed one (1) over night in the Hibernian Hotel in Kilkenny. The deal included B&B plus dinner and rooms were shared. The location was perfect - central and everything was in walking distance. The staff were outstanding, could not do enough for us. They were courteous to the endth degree and were super efficient to deal with via emails.The food was also superb and the rooms were immaculate. This was a bargain. The night life accomodated all different requirements- pubs, discos - quiet and not so quiet.. All members went home very pleased promising a return visit next year

Room Tip: Outline your requirements via email
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I really liked the look and feel of the hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. It was close to everything and the bar service/staff was excellent. However, the front desk staff (except for our check-in clerk who I only saw that once) had the personalities of wet cardboard. They were insincerely sympathetic about night noises, never recommended there own restaurant or bar, and did not seem to know the town very much when asked questions. We stayed 3 nights and only got one night of sleep. The first night we had door slamming because the check-in people placed 6 young men in two rooms in the "quiet" section on a weekend night. Every 30 minutes or so one of the men and a friend(s) would go down the hall loudly and then slam a door. This went on all night long. The third night an outside window banged all night in the wind due to a latch being broken. This would not have been a problem, but the housecleaning staff knew about the latch since they opened the window! I didn't kmow until about 11:00 when the wind picked up. The staff's response was, "why didn't you tell us, we would have moved you." Seriously, the first night they wouldn't have had enough rooms to move everyone affected by the noise, and the third night I wouldn't have felt like trapsing around the halls at midnight. Still, it is a beautiful hotel. Just stay on a Monday-Thursday, don't ask the desk questions (ask in the bar), and enjoy Kilkenny.

Room Tip: Stay as high up and to the back as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromadistance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Kilkenny is a lovely city and the Hibernian is suitated in the heart of it.

Beautiful hotel, staff and food.

Faboulous dinner, I had the curry...yum! The bad man made really lovely Pina colada and Baileys Coffees....heaven! The bar staff were fantastic.
Breakfast in the morning was super! Breakfast staff on both mornings were brilliant.

We had to pay €10 for parking in a nearby multistory but as its in the heart of the city I didn't mind paying at all.

Rooms were lovely, very comfortable, the only complaint I can say I had was the shower, the head was broken and was spouting water everywhere except on my head.

I can't wait to come back to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoystravelling52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Had the most wonderful stay at the Hibernian hotel. The hotel itself, both inside and out, is truely beautiful. The staff were lovely, very personable. Great selection of food between the bar & grill. My favourite part of it was experiencing the Hibernian Bar. It was a busy spot and everything about it - the decor, the vibe....by far one of the best bars Ireland has. What more could you ask for. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _ld30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Fantastic hotel in the middle of Kilkenny. Rooms clean and food was excellent. I'll definitely be back. Price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We took advantage of a midweek special at the Hibernian and can thoroughly recommend it. Great location. Comfortable room. Friendly staff. Great food in the bar. Adequate breakfast. Walking distance to everything worth seeing and doing in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-from-Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing