We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice bar. Great food and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just spent a couple of days away golfing in Kilkenny and had an enjoyable stay in the Hibernian.

friendly staff. Excellent service. Right in the centre of town.
Rooms fine although my room had no air con or a working extractor fan in bathroom, making room a little stuffy at nightime.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocklead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We arrived in Kilkenny (July 2010) and stopped for lunch. Thought we'd try a local pub and came across the “Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel”.

Inside it was traditionally decorated with lots of rich timber, red walls and knick-knacks, giving it a warm and homely feel. Service was good.

We enjoyed a nice lunch in lovely surroundings - a real lucky find!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for a night while driving around Ireland. Loved the old world feel of the hotel - friendly service and great breakfast. Only thing to caution is a night club in the basement. On a rainy Sunday night, there weren't too many people on the street - but it did get a bit noisy for a while while I was going to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here for one night midweek in a family group. Very friendly and efficient service, rooms were clean and fine, well equipped bathroom. However the breakfast was a real let down though again I had no complaints about the staff who were very good.

One of my family told me to avoid the orange juice so I went for the grapefruit juice instead, normally a safe bet everywhere but this was also poor quality. For a fry I ordered bacon, fried egg and tomato. The rashers were a dull shade of grey and tasteless, the fried egg was a mess with a broken yolk and the grilled tomato was so worn out from sitting under heat lamps or in an oven that it looked more like a sundried tomato!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank coylemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Breakfast just great. Rooms fine. Location very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Solo65-LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I rolled into Kilkenny early on a Sunday afternoon without any plans for lodgings. The first hotel we came across was the Hibernian, located centrally in town, and offering a rate of Euro 98 for the night, inclusive of breakfast and parking. We immediately booked, and upon my mentioning my husband's 30th birthday (the reason we're in Ireland), the staff upgraded us to a Superior room with a fabulous view of the street and a small part of Kilkenny Castle.

The staff here have been extremely friendly and knowledgeable, and we are so pleased with our decision to stay here. The street noise is a little louder than most places, but we attribute that to our enormous floor-to-ceiling windows.

This is our second time in Kilkenny, and I'm sure repeat visits will include a stay at the Hibernian.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Hotel in central Kilkenny. Spent a weekend here with my daughter and all her girlsfriends. From entering hotel, we were greated by a pure gentleman. Very warm comfortrable hotel. Rooms 4star.(My suite was excellent).Room service very quick. Dinner in resturant was so so good. Praise to chef and all the catering staff. We were looked after to the best of their ability all through dinner.Breakfast was very fresh, the best porridge and boiling pot of tea I have had in a very long time.(I am a porridge and tea freak).Look it up if traveling to Kilkenny, at least go in and have some food. Lunch on the Sunday looked real good, a lot in the bar and resturant eating, and all I could hear was "Its very tasty". Thank you to Clodagh and all the staff for looking after us...

Room Tip: Order room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyBoopClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,012 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £75 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing