We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service in a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Was so impressed with this hotel I would recommend it to anyone. Great location, helpful staff and outstanding food. Staff couldn't do enough for us while we where there and extremely reasonable. It's within walking distance to all of Kilkenny's main attractions. Delighted I stayed there and will one hundred percent go there again. Loved the homely feeling and the warmth of the open fire as you go in. Cant fault it, excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avvydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corporate4, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear awydes,

Thank you so much for your kind comments & delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Its’ always great to hear positive feedback about our staff, I have passed your comments on to them. We love this time of year also with the open fire; next week we will be putting up our Christmas decorations so if you are in Kilkenny in the coming weeks please do call in & enjoy a glass of mulled wine by the Christmas tree in Hibernian Bar. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

John McNena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here recently and had a great time. Rooms were very good, staff very helpful and curtious and a great location in the heart of Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diarmuid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corporate4, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Diamruid M,
Its’ great to hear that you enjoyed your break in our hotel. We are indeed very lucky with our central location being on the doorstep of Kilkenny Castle, the shops of High Street and of course our proximity to the many great bars, restaurants & late night venues in Kilkenny. Hope to see you back in Kilkenny again soon.

Kind regards,

John McNena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here during a driving trip. Location smack bang in the centre of Kilkenny which makes it ideal. Staff curtious, food of a good standard and served on a hot plate which makes a difference. The hotel and room were spotless and the bar was very cosy with its log fire.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing onto Patrick street as it can get a bit noisy at closing time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corporate4, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear dubbhoy,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your visit to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, it is greatly appreciated. Your kind words will be shared with the all the staff. Glad to hear that our policy of ‘warm food must ALWAYS be served on a warm plate’ is being adhered to. Our hotel is in an ideal location in terms of soaking up the lively atmosphere of Kilkenny’s vibrant nightlife, however weekends are very busy in Kilkenny and as our hotel is located in the heart of the city some of the rooms facing the front of hotel do unfortunately experience street noise which is regrettably outside of our control. The next time you visit us please mention when making your reservation that you would like to stay in a room which is not facing on to the street and we will do our utmost to facilitate this request and allocate you to a room at the back of the hotel. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

John McNena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Had a pub lunch at the Hibernian Hotel on Sunday 30th, were only having a sandwich but expected something nice because of the Gastro Pub of the Year flags outside. My friend waited nearly 30 minutes for her sandwich which was only ok, nothing special with a few tiny french fries. I was supposed to get a ham salad sandwich which consisted of a slice of ham between two slices of bread and a little bowl of salad, ham looked like it was out of a pack. On Saturday we had lunch in the Left Bank across the road where my friend had a ham panini with gorgeous thick slices of home cooked ham and I had a lovely seafood chowder. We waited so long in The Hibernian and had to remind the staff that we had ordered that I really felt it was not worth the wait, try the Left Bank which is not any cheaper but much better value for money because the food is far superior.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TravelotsCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMcNena, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear TravelotsCorkIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for what seems to have been a disappointing experience at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel. Having investigated your comments thoroughly I have established that it was extremely busy in Hibernian Bar on this day however this is no excuse for you having to wait an extended period for your lunch and I can assure you that this is definitely not par for the service and quality standards we adhere to. If you could contact me directly either on 056 777 1888 or gm@kilkennyhibernianhotel.com I would be very happy to discuss your comments above in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

John McNena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I was lucky enough to get a room at the last minute at this wonderful hotel, I stayed in the Penthouse, and I was spoiled with the luxurious accomadation. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is of a very high standard and very affordable. This hotel is right in the heart of the City, minutes away from the shops. bars and cafes of the city. I am looking forward to going back there early next year.

Room Tip: This is a beautiful old building with all mod cons. On this visit I stayed in the Penthouse, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARMADUBLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMcNena, General Manager at Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear KARMADUBLIN,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us; I will happily pass on your kind words to our staff. Our philosophy on the food we serve in Hibernian Bar and City Bar & Grill is ‘use the best seasonal local ingredients to create classic dishes at affordable prices’, so it is wonderful to hear that you did indeed experience this guarantee & we delivered in terms of quality, service & affordability. Most of all, I am pleased that you are going to return to stay with us again next year.

Kind regards,

John McNena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I was sick the night I stayed here and had to leave party I was with to go back to room. Staff couldn't have been more accomodating, delivering my dinner to my room and outside of room service hours dropping up water for me. Reception were so friendly on check in too. Just don't come here at weekend for quiet night in as directly over nightclub. Perfect location. Walking distance to all pubs/clubs

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southeastfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights.The hotel is in a great location, right opposite the castle. We had a little baby with us so we were hoping to have a mini fridge and kettle in our room to make and store bottles. Alas, there weren't any of these 'utinsils', However, the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and had no problem storing bottles in the hotel kitchen fridge and running up and down to our room with bottles. They were very good indeed. The breakfast was very tasty but the food down in the bar was fabulous - definitely eat here if you can. Another small teeny tiny mark down was lack of little things like a shower cap

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grainhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
2 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing