We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite simply one of the best hotels I ever stayed in....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Bucks County, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite simply one of the best hotels I ever stayed in....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2008

While traveling in Ireland with my sister we discovered the Hibernian quite by accident after we left another hotel after a very bad experience. The Hibernian, from the location, room accomadations, the bar, the restaurant and the wonderful staff, completely restored our faith in Ireland's hotels. We arrived late in the evening, and the front desk staff immediately made us feel welcomed and arranged for us to have dinner at a local restaurant (their restaurant was booked for the evening) while our bags were taken to our rooms, From that moment on it was pure joy. The location is great, it's just a short walk to the castle, pubs, restaurants and churches. The hotel is a beautiful restored bank, lots of marlbe and stain glass windows. Every member of the staff were beyond helpful and friendly, from the bellhop to the front desk. The rooms were beautiful and roomy, the bartenders chatty and the restaurant food and service amazing, for the money there is not a better spot in Ireland.

  • Liked — The staff was wonderful and truly seemed to want to make it a great experince for their guest
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieBucksCounty_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    213
    92
    48
    38
See reviews for
86
336
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

The Hibernian Hotel is a lovely building, very well located in Kilkenny with a great bar. Though apparently the hotel can not be bothered listening to customers or responding to their emails so i've decided to write a review.
The reception staff were helpful if somewhat forgetful; our room wasnt ready upon arrival in the afternoon, so we were asked to wait in the bar and we'd be told when it was ready, but were abandoned for 30 minutes. And then we got to our room to discover that our bags hadnt been brought up but were still sat behind the front desk and i had to collect them myself.

The next problem was the sound proofing, at 5 AM on the Saturday morning we awoke to hear two men and a woman having a chat in the room next to ours, not talking at all loudly, but we could hear them quite clearly, which only became a real issue when they decided to engage in 'adult relations'. It was like having, an admittedly short, porn movie being filmed in our room. This was irritating but still amusing and not a big issue, except when you're paying €200 a night.

THE MAJOR problem was in the restaurant. We had dinner there on the Saturday night and my girlfriend asked for fillet of beef with NOTHING on the plate and a side order of baby potatoes, which the waitress repeated. So we then waited 45 minutes for a well cooked piece of beef(which was fine, it was on the menu) and when it arrived it was on a bed of, what appeared to be, carmelised red onion and a lump of chopped sweet peppers plopped down on the plate. Needless to say I wasnt happy, how in gods name can they not get it right, beef and NOTHING else??! I wanted to complain but my girlfriend didnt want to wait another 45 minutes so we scraped it off. The waitress then ignored the side plate of onions and sweet pepper that we left on the table beside us. What would have happened if my girlfriend had suffered from an allergy?? Its a ridiculous situation for a restaurant that is not cheap, that it can not get a simple, plain order right. It's farsical.
If the hotel had bothered to acknowledge my email I wouldnt have written a review and these things wouldn't have mattered as much, but they didnt.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinSuperhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

Kilkenny is a great little town....The hotel is near Kilkenny Castle which is a wonderful sight - really quite impressive.
The hotel is a comfortable place with great food, friendly & very helpful staff - particularly the reception staff & the Assistant manager John.
I stayed during the Xmas period so the restaurant was always occupied with parties so I decided to have room service. The meal I requested wasn't to the standard I expected & I suspect it was because the chef was too pre-occupied with the restaurant guests to make the effort. To be fair I can't blame him as the restaurant was exceptionally busy however John made amends by getting the chef to prepare me a dessert surprise & believe me it was absolutely delicious so that more than made up for the disappointing meal.
I found this hotel particularly welcoming especially with the comfortable little bar area that offers excellent mid-morning scones! & a very appetising menu.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. I will be going back very soon & I expect it will be better without the xmas festivities going on so I am really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LK2LONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2007

We have the misfortune to book last August !!!! for aparty of sixteen to spend the weekend here this week end 24/11 2007
We booked 10 rooms in total and organised to have dinner together (or so we thought) at one table. We were given the choice of a either a six or nine o clock sitting. oWe opted for the nine. We left waiting in the lobby until 9.45pm and when we were shown to our table which turned out to be two tables..... one for ten and one for six !!!!!!!! Service the Hibernan way !!!!! When we addressed the problem to the general manger he atitude was rude and condesending ...... Tough that was all he had......... take it or leaveit !!!!!
Nothing he could do about it and really he did not care that the booking had been made in August and that it was not his fault that the first sitting delayed on the table and held it up ....
We arrived this am for breakfast at 10.10 am and there is no hot breakfast after 10 am we could have tea and toast !!!!! most hotels extend there breakfast service on weekend to oblige their guests not the Hibernan !!!!! it is a hotel that would prefer that guests obeyed their rules !!!!!!! needless to say we will not trouble them again !!!!!!! As for the supposed general manager he needs to take a course how to deal with customers as he people skills are NIL !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie999ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2007

I recently booked a weekend stay in the Hibernian Hotel and as a treat I booked one of Penthouse Suites which I got at a reasonable rate on the hotel website. Upon arrival we were greeted by a pleasant Eastern European chap who checked us in. Unfortunetely I couldn't understand too much he said to us. Our suite was very nice but not overly spectacular. There was a sitting room area with 2 nice armchairs, a plasma tv and stereo. The bedroom was a nice size and had a kingsize bed, tv and dvd player. The TVs only had 4 or 5 channels but as we happen to have a couple of DVDs with us we didn't mind. The bathroom was just ok, it had a jacuzzi bath which did not work and there seemed to be a lack of space to leave toiletries etc. However there was bath robes and slippers.

We went down to the main bar which was extremely nice and had an open fire which was very welcome as it was quite cold outside. The staff were handing out some nice snacks of sausages and chicken etc. I assume this was a regular Friday evening thing. The service in the bar was excellent and very friendly.

After a while we decided to frequent a few other bars around the town but later on that night we returned to the hotel's late bar Morrissons. The bar was playing mainly hip-hop type music and was mainly frequented by people in their early twenties. We stayed for a while but we then returned to the more relaxing main bar for a couple of nightcaps.

As noted by other comments a lot of noise can be heard from the street and the late bar from our bedroom but as both myself and my wife are heavy sleepers it did not bother us. However this should be taken into consideration for anyone planning to stay in the hotel.

Our breakfast in bed arrived on time the following morning and was a very good standard. After a bit of a lie in we did a bit of shopping around the town and then returned to the hotel for a spot of late lunch which consisted of an excellent seafood chowder. Later that night we had dinner in the restaurant. They offered us a choice of table which was very nice. The food was of a very high standard and I would highly recommend the steaks.

The following morning we went down for breakfast and was delighted that there was table service rather than queuing like cattle for a self service. Again breakfast very good and the option of french toast was a nice change to the regular fry up.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay, the service and food is excellent. If I'm going to be a bit picky the penthouse suite could have been a bit better and the noise outside would effect some people. However I feel I will definetly return for another stay soon.

  • Liked — food and service
  • Disliked — bathroom and lack of tv channels
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noelmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

Beautiful hotel. Great location. Nice people. Didn't sleep very much due to street noise, obnoxious light fixture outside of room (room 120), garbage removal in early morning and jackhammers across street from construction. Really nice room, but had to sleep 2-3 hours longer because couldn't get up at expected time. Really liked the hotel otherwise.

  • Liked — Really nice decor and great bar
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StarMcMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2007

This is a great hotel in an old bank building. The rooms are clean and have a lot of character. The staff is pleasant and helpful. There's a great old pub on the first floor with a lot of character.

Our major complaint was the noise. Beneath the hotel is a bar that has live music. Our first night there, a Wednesday, it was so loud that we were kept up until the gig (a cheesy cover band) was over, after 1 p.m. And we were on the top floor! We didn't have windows open or anything -- the sound just carried, especially the bass. The second night, the band was quieter. We actually went down to check them out and enjoyed the music (traditional Irish music) for a while. That band's noise didn't carry like the first one's did.

Much as I loved the Hibernian, I'm not sure I'd stay there again. The bar in the basement seems to have a lot of live acts, and it's not worth the risk.

  • Liked — The good service and the decor
  • Disliked — The noise from the basement bar made it impossible to sleep
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranky_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing