We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, but can do better”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Great location, really nice hotel, efficient check in, great breakfast, great value. The difficulty arose when my room key card wouldn't work and had to be reset 5 times in one evening. The guy in reception and night porter could not have been more helpful or apologetic. The multiple trips to and from my room to reception to get the card reset were not amusing. When checking out the next day I mentioned this to the receptionist and her response was "yeah that's been a problem for us". She was also unable to print a receipt for me. A little effort here would make a big difference, get the room card machine sorted please. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would also be a plus. This is a good hotel but it could be a great hotel!!!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Irishbaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    220
    97
    48
    40
See reviews for
91
353
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our recent meal in this bar was most pleasant, not only because of the pleasing quality of the food but for the bargain offered at €24.95 per person for 3 courses and a nice glass of red!

Baked mushroom stuffed with potato was well-presented and quite tasty and my partner left little of his seafood chowder in the bowl! My vegetarian pasta dish was delicious and was served with garlic ciabatta which could have been baked for a little longer! The other half's main was steak and chips and while he polished off the steak we were hardly surprised that it wasn't the best steak in the world - at that price it wasn't expected. Dessert for both of us was apple & plum crumble served with a little jug of custard which was just sublime.

Would go back; the place was immaculate, the atmosphere lively without being intrusive on our company and the service was faultless.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Landed hear by chance after the staff in Langtons decided to treat us like garbage, the staff were so warm and welcoming no problem we could join the residents for breakfast the choice was great and the food was great, just what we needed after our battering at the hands of langtons divas well done

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a couple of nights in another 4 star hotel and this didn't match up at all. It's a very nice hotel and the staff were excellent. The room service prices are far to high. The fire alarm went off at 5am.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toothpick0950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northen ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Had a great stay in this lovely hotel in kilkenny!! Friendly staff, clean room & brilliant breakfast n bar snacks!! Would defo go back to this hotel! (Location makes it!!)

Room Tip: Rooms at back hotel may be best! (This is where i was located)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailes448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for a two night break in a twin room. The hotel has a nice old feel which I really like and its the same with the rooms. They are basic but have everything that you need in them. The staff are really nice too and they have nice bar food and restaurant. The location is what makes it. Its perfect and within walking distance to everything. Would def stay again if I was returning to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeydroptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Staff was nice and helpful. Deluxe Double Room was specious, clean and beautiful. Great location in city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madzia971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,650 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing