We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

Stayed for one night and it was the best hotel i've ever stayed in. if you can, get a suite. Our suite was 2 floors, had a huge window, a jacuzzi, dressing gowns and slippers. And the room was immaculate. We ordered room service for breakfast which was amazing too. i would definitely recommend this hotel. I didnt notice any noise and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The jaccuzzi
  • Disliked — loved every bit of it
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank explorerdubgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    209
    92
    48
    38
See reviews for
82
330
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

Think Twice before staying here - On our first night at this hotel we stayed on the first floor, we were very disappointed with the cramp and somewhat tatty looking room. We went to bed at about 11.30pm after a nice dinner and a drink - just as I was about to drift off, music started to thump (there's a tacky nightclub downstairs)and it continued until I finally fell asleep at about 3am. Bad enough as this was, it was NOTHING compared to the bottle man sorting bottles out below my window at 8am the next morning. When I went to reception to complain it seemed I had to join the queue. One couple checked out!! The weary and somewhat unhelpful duty manager (according to her we should have rang down at 2.30am and they would have moved us!) Moved us to the top floor where the room was a lot better and we could not hear the noise as much. Reading over the reviews I can see why they are so mixed, it's all depends on where you stay in the hotel!

Listening to other people complain I hear the breakfast was awful too! I was a little too tired to attend.

Worst stay in a hotel ever and I travel a LOT with work. Pure Rubbish! Noisy, run down and really unhelpful staff considering it's not exactly cheap!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janedanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

The Hibernian Hotel is a truly authentic Irish Style hotel that me and my wife enjoyed so much!
Starting from the authentic pub at the ground floor, passing trough the lobby with the green painted walls and finishing in the comfortable and warm double room, all that we experienced during our stay was very pleasant!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AviationLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

Stayed over night at this hotel in mid January as had an appointment first thing following morning. Use a sleep machine and requested there be an extension cord in room if three pin plug not available at bedside. Checked in late - 9.30 pm to nice room but music started just below me around 11 and I had to move room - again music and general noise from downstairs unbearable - got moved again to better room but unfortunately no three pin plug and no extension lead! Complained next morning and was given discount but really when I actually slept for approx. 3 hours the whole night thought I should have been given a full refund. Probably a good place for a lads or hens weekend but certainly not to be recommended when on a business trip. Wont be back.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank merchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2008

While traveling in Ireland with my sister we discovered the Hibernian quite by accident after we left another hotel after a very bad experience. The Hibernian, from the location, room accomadations, the bar, the restaurant and the wonderful staff, completely restored our faith in Ireland's hotels. We arrived late in the evening, and the front desk staff immediately made us feel welcomed and arranged for us to have dinner at a local restaurant (their restaurant was booked for the evening) while our bags were taken to our rooms, From that moment on it was pure joy. The location is great, it's just a short walk to the castle, pubs, restaurants and churches. The hotel is a beautiful restored bank, lots of marlbe and stain glass windows. Every member of the staff were beyond helpful and friendly, from the bellhop to the front desk. The rooms were beautiful and roomy, the bartenders chatty and the restaurant food and service amazing, for the money there is not a better spot in Ireland.

  • Liked — The staff was wonderful and truly seemed to want to make it a great experince for their guest
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieBucksCounty_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

The Hibernian Hotel is a lovely building, very well located in Kilkenny with a great bar. Though apparently the hotel can not be bothered listening to customers or responding to their emails so i've decided to write a review.
The reception staff were helpful if somewhat forgetful; our room wasnt ready upon arrival in the afternoon, so we were asked to wait in the bar and we'd be told when it was ready, but were abandoned for 30 minutes. And then we got to our room to discover that our bags hadnt been brought up but were still sat behind the front desk and i had to collect them myself.

The next problem was the sound proofing, at 5 AM on the Saturday morning we awoke to hear two men and a woman having a chat in the room next to ours, not talking at all loudly, but we could hear them quite clearly, which only became a real issue when they decided to engage in 'adult relations'. It was like having, an admittedly short, porn movie being filmed in our room. This was irritating but still amusing and not a big issue, except when you're paying €200 a night.

THE MAJOR problem was in the restaurant. We had dinner there on the Saturday night and my girlfriend asked for fillet of beef with NOTHING on the plate and a side order of baby potatoes, which the waitress repeated. So we then waited 45 minutes for a well cooked piece of beef(which was fine, it was on the menu) and when it arrived it was on a bed of, what appeared to be, carmelised red onion and a lump of chopped sweet peppers plopped down on the plate. Needless to say I wasnt happy, how in gods name can they not get it right, beef and NOTHING else??! I wanted to complain but my girlfriend didnt want to wait another 45 minutes so we scraped it off. The waitress then ignored the side plate of onions and sweet pepper that we left on the table beside us. What would have happened if my girlfriend had suffered from an allergy?? Its a ridiculous situation for a restaurant that is not cheap, that it can not get a simple, plain order right. It's farsical.
If the hotel had bothered to acknowledge my email I wouldnt have written a review and these things wouldn't have mattered as much, but they didnt.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinSuperhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

Kilkenny is a great little town....The hotel is near Kilkenny Castle which is a wonderful sight - really quite impressive.
The hotel is a comfortable place with great food, friendly & very helpful staff - particularly the reception staff & the Assistant manager John.
I stayed during the Xmas period so the restaurant was always occupied with parties so I decided to have room service. The meal I requested wasn't to the standard I expected & I suspect it was because the chef was too pre-occupied with the restaurant guests to make the effort. To be fair I can't blame him as the restaurant was exceptionally busy however John made amends by getting the chef to prepare me a dessert surprise & believe me it was absolutely delicious so that more than made up for the disappointing meal.
I found this hotel particularly welcoming especially with the comfortable little bar area that offers excellent mid-morning scones! & a very appetising menu.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. I will be going back very soon & I expect it will be better without the xmas festivities going on so I am really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LK2LONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing