We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room for a quick stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great location and nice hotel, the Hibernian was a good spot for a one-night stay. Something was a muck with the heater and it was really hot and we couldn't figure out how to turn it back down. Always be sure to ask. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan and Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    226
    98
    48
    41
See reviews for
93
360
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff were very nice. Rooms were clean but basic. Was a little annoying not having tea and coffee facilities in the room as one night I rang reception and they never dropped up my tea. Other than that hotel was nice. I would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Odhrán G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We visited Kilkenny for 2 days at the beginning of this week. We planned the trip the night before as it was a last minute idea and on the basis of the score of this hotel on travelling websites we decided it was a good price in a good location and we decided to book in for 1 night on the bank holiday Monday. We booked a classic double room for €78 B&B. We tried to check in when we arrived around lunch time but the room was not ready, but that was fine as rooms are only guaranteed after 3pm.

We returned to the hotel at approx half 4 to check in. The ladies on the reception were very friendly and welcoming. We were given room 222 on the second floor. On first impression we noticed that the hallway to the left of the stairs appeared much newer and had different carpet than the small hallway to the right. There were 3 or 4 rooms in the small hall to the right of the stairs where room 222 is located. I don't know what the other 3 are like but if our one was anything to go by make sure you get one of the newer rooms in the hall with the red carpet.
Room 222: When we opened the door I was somewhat disappointed by the appearance of the room in comparison to the photos on the hotels website. The room looked very old and shabby in general and the "luxurious cover" over the bed was tatty and stained. Not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. There were cracks all over the ceiling and a bad disguise job had been carried out by painting over the cracks which were clearly visible. There was an old fireplace in the room and the window was an old sash window (which was ok) but was no way sealed and the noise from the street below was as loud as if the window had been open. The room was absolutely freezing (I had a coat and scarf on), but we noticed that the radiator was turned off so we turned it on and hoped that some heat would improve the room. The room then began to get warm pretty quickly after that, it was improving...we thought! When I opened the wardrobe in the room it smelled old and musty and I decided to leave my clothes in my bag rather than hanging them up.
We tried closing the curtains before we went out for the evening and they would only close over half way. We informed the reception of this at approx 5.15pm and went out for a walk. We returned to the hotel at approx 6.45pm and the curtains were in the exact same position we had left them (held shut with a chair). I decided to have a look at the bathroom at this point. The shower would not entice me to use it as the grout between the tiles was stained and grubby. The floor tiles were loose and coming up off the floor and the sharp corners were sticking up in many places which was quite dangerous. My boyfriend could actually pick them up off the floor without any effort as they were just sitting on the floor.
Between the tiles coming off the floor, the curtains not closing, the old smell in the wardrobe, the grubbiness of the shower, the noise from the street below, the tatty and stained cover on the bed and the general shabby appearance of the room we decided to go down to reception and ask to be moved because this room was just appalling.
When we asked at reception to move rooms as the room we had been given was not acceptable, the lady asked us if the curtains were the only problem and said that the other lady from reception had gone up to fix them but couldn't reach them. Perhaps she did try but we found it unusual that the chair we had used to hold the curtains closed was in the exact same position and the curtains had not been touched either. As soon as we mentioned that there were a number of things wrong with room, and particularly that the floor tiles in the bathroom were loose and coming up off the floor she quickly gave us another room, room 225.
Room 225: This was more the sort of room I was expecting from a 4* hotel. The room was located in the newer hall with the red carpet just a few doors down from 222. What a difference. The room was spotless and very clean as I would expect. Just walking into the room was a different experience. The room was large and had a spotless bathroom and all the tiles were stuck to the floor which was a big change. The room had new windows(compared to 222), newer curtains and the bed cover was not stained or tatty like the other one had been. In general it was like being in a different building....which it seems to be. Breakfast the next morning was ok, again not up to a 4* standard but the excellent manner of all of the staff is the only major positive from this hotel.

We were very disappointed that the hotel had not given us room 225 in the beginning. They are not without knowing the condition of the rooms and room 225 was obviously free as we were moved to it. If we had been given room 225 in the first instance we would have had no reason to doubt this hotel. While room 225 would encourage me to go back to the hotel again, the fact that we were given such an awful room at first would put us off ever staying at this hotel ever again unless we were really stuck or if we were sure we would get one of the nice rooms.
I have my own suspicions as to why we were given such an awful room. We are in our 20's and perhaps because we are young the hotel presumed that it wouldnt matter what sort of a room we got and perhaps presumed that we wouldn't complain. This was just my own opinion. We have stayed in many hotels around the country and in other countries but this is the only hotel we have ever had to move rooms in.

If you do decide to stay here, just make sure your room is one of the good ones, and make sure it's not 222 unless it gets a major revamp!
There is parking directly across from the hotel in a multi-storey carpark called Ormonde St car park and the hotel will cover your parking from 6pm on the evening of check in until 12 noon the next day. The hotel is in an excellent location and the entire city is in walking distance but just be wary of the room you are given.

My ratings of service, value,sleep quality and cleanliness etc are based on room 225.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and make sure it is not one of the old rooms, not 222!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrionaD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location, near everything. It’s an old world style, and when you arrive it’s so warm and cosy & welcoming. The bar is obviously a hit with locals, as it was near packed at 12PM when we arrived. The food looked amazing too. The girls on reception were lovely & helpful. The only disappointment we had was our room. The beds were very comfortable. However, we were on the 3rd floor, and the room was tiny. There was an empty space where the wardrobe should have been & no tea or coffee making facilities. Also, a 4 star hotel should provide the guests with slippers and robes, there were none of those available either. It was very basic to be honest. Not what I would have expected of a 4 star hotel. All that being said, the hotel apart from the 3rd floor room was lovely & I would definitely stay again. Not on the 3rd floor however!

Room Tip: ask not to be on the third floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is in a great location with parking just across
the street. The room was fine, but the only complaint I have is the bathroom,( we have a son
with special needs so we get very little time for weekends away and when I do I like to relax in a nice bath with a glass of wine, but unfortunately the bathroom needs a little TLC, the seal and shower curtain were pretty grotty and there was a big crack in the handbasin so not very relaxing) also shower didn't work too well
However on the plus side, the food was great, the staff very helpful and friendly and there is a great buzz in this hotel. when booking I asked for a quiet room and they didn't disappoint and it was very quiet. As the heading says would I recommend this hotel then absolutely "Yes" and would certainly return only down side was the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights last week with the Grab One Voucher. This included 2 nights B & B and a 2 course evening meal. The hotel is a 4 star and certainly met these standards. Very busy with a great buzz both in the bar and restaurant. The food was excellent and all the staff from the Receptionist to the girls cleaning the rooms just could not do enough for you. No Coffee or Tea in the rooms you just ring down to reception and they will send it up to you free of charge. This is certainly one of the best Hotels I have stayed in Ireland and will be going back.

Carmel. Co. Clare

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hibernian for a hen night. There were 15 of us in total. The hotel staff were an absolute pleasure to deal with right from booking until check out. Everyone i dealt with was more than obliging. The food was fabulous and the whole atmosphere and package that they organised for us was amazing. I cannot emphasise enough how brilliant the staff are at this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roisin4568376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing