We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's is not 4 star it's two star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very disappointed with my stay the room was a town and a box in size.. No tea/coffee facilities when I rang gown only then was I told they deliver tea/coffee 24hrs a day should have being told this on checkin.. No shower caps or body lotion when they delivered body lotion it contained shower gel.. Breakfast was so basic and no decent veg options or non meat options. The staff were lovely but so disgusted with what I was charged was expecting a much more luxurious stay then what I Recieved..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

On Tuesday the 4th March I checked into this hotel with my partner, and his elderly mother and aunt. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the extremely friendly staff both at reception, and in the bar. My partners mother is in her eighties and was ,impressed with the log fire but more so the barman who treated her ( and indeed all of us) so well. When she asked where the nearest church was to get ashes he gave her the information he knew, but then came back with a printout of all local churchs and the times of their services.(which was very much appreciated).There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms but complimentry tea/coffee is available 24 hrs and delivered with a smile.The location is central for the town, and this is most certainly a hotel we will be going back to..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed in the Hotel in December 2013. The rooms and hotel is very cosy. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The bar is lovely and it is all very quaint for a city centre hotel. Well done looking forward to a return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just stayed the weekend and enjoyed it. Comfortable place, friendly staff, lively bar and good breakfasts.

However ......, on checking in we were advised we would be in a quiet wing of the hotel! Quiet that was each night until about 3.00 a.m. We were then treated to the sounds of the returning Hen party girls partying on, blundering about, slamming doors and banging on them because of lost keys. To boot, at 4.00 a.m. Saturday some staff member decided to sort out the bottle recycling trolleys outside. I sense this is a recurring theme on weekends, as Kilkenny is a Mecca for Hens and Stags and this hotel is very well situated to accommodate them. Book accordingly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel was average at best the staff were helpful and pleasant, room was clean but not well appointed, no kettle hair dryer etc... however at 11 pm the noise started from outside as revellers availed of the nite-club this continued until shortly after 5 am as a result what should have been a relaxing weekend was a disaster and at a cost of €160 it really was excessive. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Went here for hen Excellent value . Right in centre of all the Action. A walk from all good pubs and clubs. Rooms were nice . Breakfast was lovely. It was v cheap for hotel in centre of town. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a 1 night stay recently,a v nice country style old room,big bed clean big bathroom. It is quiet and slap bank in city centre so a great location.
Parking next door in multi storey,free overnight. It is right near bank,shops,bars and the Castle.
It was a nice breakfast in the morning and the bar is worth a visit.
No tea
making facility in room although you can ask for it. Full marks for location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,011 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £75 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing