We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Kilkennys best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of Kilkennys best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Really love this place for food. It cost an extra few euro compared to other places but really is worth it. The chicken curry is one of my favourites. The staff are some of the best and seem to be very professional. The ice cream sundae is a real treat with its fresh berries.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kieran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    212
    92
    48
    38
See reviews for
86
335
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Room was immaculate, staff were helpful & friendly, food was delicious!!
Perfect town centre location, busy pub & nightclub attached yet you can't hear a thing from your room!! Super place to stay!! Amazing!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here many times over the past 6 years or so. We always loved staying here. Unfortunately it is no longer as good as it used to be.
Location is great and is ideal for going to the many great bars and restaurants nearby. Atmosphere in hotel is always good - especially in Winter.
On our last visits a lot of small things have been wrong. Best example is our last visit - lifts not working for our stay (of course this can happen anytime), water in shower was cold (weather was very warm and we tried to shower in evening just before going out for evening but water was freezing), ordered a soft fried egg with breakfast but it came rock hard and asked again and reminded waitress again after 10 mins that it hadn't come - it arrived 20 mins after we had initially got breakfast!! Pointed these out to receptionist when checking out and did not like her attitude at all. Very meagre apology but not really meant. Eventually she said manager would contact us when we explained we had always really liked the hotel but wouldn't stay again as standards were slipping and Kilkenny has other great hotels. Never heard from anyone!! We haven't returned there but have been back in other hotel in Kilkenny twice since then.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Pros
Great location
Nice breakfast
Staff were friendly but not overly helpful

Cons
-Very expensive
-No tea/coffee/water in the bedroom- can't think of the last time this happened in a hotel
-Generally grubby and worn looking (bed covers, around the shower, cracks in the ceiling, back off the remote etc)
-Very little lighting in the room and we could only find one plug (so even less)
- toilet didn't flush properly and was constantly getting clogged.
- 4'6" bed: not used to it at home so certainly don't want it on my holidays!
- noise outside was really loud (until about 5am)

To be honest, I was really shocked at what was being charged considering that there were basic things missing. I wouldn't have minded if the price had been €30-€40 less. If you don't mind all of the items I have mentioned I suggest asking for a room with a larger bed (the room next to ours had one) and facing the front (there is a lane way with a nightclub down the side).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoebegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very disappointed with my stay the room was a town and a box in size.. No tea/coffee facilities when I rang gown only then was I told they deliver tea/coffee 24hrs a day should have being told this on checkin.. No shower caps or body lotion when they delivered body lotion it contained shower gel.. Breakfast was so basic and no decent veg options or non meat options. The staff were lovely but so disgusted with what I was charged was expecting a much more luxurious stay then what I Recieved..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

On Tuesday the 4th March I checked into this hotel with my partner, and his elderly mother and aunt. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the extremely friendly staff both at reception, and in the bar. My partners mother is in her eighties and was ,impressed with the log fire but more so the barman who treated her ( and indeed all of us) so well. When she asked where the nearest church was to get ashes he gave her the information he knew, but then came back with a printout of all local churchs and the times of their services.(which was very much appreciated).There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms but complimentry tea/coffee is available 24 hrs and delivered with a smile.The location is central for the town, and this is most certainly a hotel we will be going back to..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed in the Hotel in December 2013. The rooms and hotel is very cosy. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The bar is lovely and it is all very quaint for a city centre hotel. Well done looking forward to a return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing