We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 20 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

my wife and myself stayed at the Hibernian recently. First of all it is a beautiful hotel inside a classy hotel with a beautiful bar. It is located right in the downtown of Kilkenny. This can be good or bad. It was a Friday night we stayed and it was Party Central. We could hear bands playing down the street and a lot of screaming and yelling from the street until about 3 am. I know this is not the hotels' fault and it was a friday night and our room was on the street 2nd floor.
I felt the price was good, staff was nice, and a delicious full breakfast was included. Just request an interior room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimMoran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
There are newer reviews for Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel is a very good hotel in the center of Kilkenny, 5 minutes by walk of the castle.
The hotel is nice and located close to a parking (possibility of having lower prices).
The staff is efficient and welcoming.
The rooms was big and very well-equipped, very functional. It was not noisy even if it was on Ormonde Street.
It is possible to eat at the pub of the hotel. The atmosphere is typical and food very tasty with a broad choice of fishes and excellent mossels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Unfortunately, I was not suppose to stay here but the hotel I was booked in, claimed to have sold out to a convention at the last minute. The room was extremely small, I couldn't even wheel my luggage between the bed and the dresser to make room. The bed was a double, not a queen. The pillow was as flat as a pancake and there were no spares in the room. Lastly, there was a very loud club in the hotel that had music pumping until 2:45 AM and you could hear it at the opposite end of the hotel. People were coming back to there rooms singing, whistling and yelling at all hours of the morning. There was no thermostat to control the air in the room and we couldn't open the window due to the loudness of the club. All in all, I had a better snooze on the plane. I would highly recommend finding another hotel if you want sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed in the hibernian with a group as part of a hen party package and we got a fantastic deal. Our room was lovely and modern although some of our friends' rooms weren't quite so modern. There was a bit of noise from the street at night which didn't bother us as we were up late, but would definitely have kept light sleepers awake. The food was very nice and the service quite good. Parking is very close by and the hotel is in a great central location in kilkenny.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muinteoir123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a perfect weekend, great staff, location and restaurant. I left my charger in the room and only realised when I got home. I called the hotel and they immediately offered to post it to me. I was delighted with the hotel and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamhh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great hotel, nice plush surroundings looks very well, great location the staff are excellent. Room service is very quick and reasonable,the bar is nice and relaxing in the daytime and full of life at nights ( could do with updating smoking area ) The food is first class and well presented, going back in August.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are slightly small, much better to pay extra few quid to go for a suit or penthouse r...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

this was our first visit to kilkenny. we just decided to go on thursday night for the weekend. rang Hibernian Hotel and got a good deal. from start to finish we had a wonderful weekend. the staff, food, room and the city had everything you could want. cant wait to go back in august.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank christina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,947 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £74 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing