We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel - a mediocre 3 star at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed there Sat Night Aug 28th, Very nice location right in the centre of Kilkenny
and beautiful facade outside.
Arrived 1.00pm - told sorry cannot book in as your room is not ready, come back in an hour, left bags amongst a heap of other's bags behind reception. When we came back later there was a queue - most peoples rooms were not ready, ours was tho. ( its 2.50pm at this stage)
When got to room - it was shabby and tired, the shower door wouldnt stay closed, the drawers were loose on their runners, the windows had missing catches etc. the whole upstairs spoke 2star to lower 3star accommodation. At night the street noise was intense and not shielded at all by the ancient single-glazed windows, there was no aircon. When we went to get our car next morning it appears that the hotel only offers a discount on the nighttime rate at the car park and you have to pay full price for the daytime part!

In its favour its not a bad place, the prices were not 4star and the location is fantastic.
If you want to be at the heart of the action and dont mind the noise of the steet cleaning truck for what seemed like hours its the place for you.

However its trading on the location and the facade.
Makes me wonder who rates hotels in Ireland as this is not the first time ive seen 4stars where they are not merited!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nairb356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

The likelihood of satisfaction with the Hibernian is largely dependent on your reason for staying there. If you're part of a large group and the purpose of your visit is to go out on the town and stay out late (ergo you won't be around to hear the loud music from the late bar/will pass out without noticing it), you may find its central location and late license ideal. On the other hand, if you have ideas about getting to sleep any time before 2am and are unfortunate enough to get a room facing onto the street or on the first/second floor, you're going to be disappointed and/or infuriated.
Noise aside, the hotel is dark and rather gloomy. Rooms are painted a custard colour, which absorbs every photon of light; windows are small; beds are relatively comfortable but the sheets don't fit properly. Bathrooms are adequate but the showers are not particularly good (in the first room the water pressure and temperature didn't respond to the controls; in the second, the shower-head leaked). The building feels jaded; so, too, did the full Irish breakfast. It appeared on the table in record time after ordering, leaving the suspicion that it had been cooked several hours previously. Incidentally, breakfast ending at 10am on a weekend morning is quite early.
With the exception of one obnoxious individual, each member of staff was friendly and helpful. They are probably the best feature of the Hibernian. I would be unlikely to choose this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Booked this hotel due to it's location, star-rating and positive reviews on this website. It was to be the first weekend we were having away after our baby was born so we decided the extra expense of a four-star hotel was worth it!

Check-in was positive with the lighting very low which we found a bit strange. Got to our room and were underwhelmed to say the least. The room was tight and the bathroom was tiny! Not the space you'd expect at a four-star hotel at all,especially when we were paying over €130 a night! The decor also left alot to be desired. It was dated and dull. The TV was old and the signal was very patchy with only 3 or 4 of the channels listed in the brochure actually available. Also the room was oppresively hot. We adjusted what we assumed was the thermostat and opened the windows but it didn't improve very much.

We went to bed with the windows open but not long after realised that this wouldn't work as the noise level was already quite high from down below us. During the night the noise level increased as the music was pumped out in the late bar within the hotel complex.

The next morning, after a really good, freshly made breakfast, we succeeded in getting moved to the third floor and to a larger room which was a relief. That night we managed to get a far better sleep but the heat in the room was still an issue which we never managed to figure out as there was no mention of the heating or how to operate it in the room guide in the room.

We left the hotel frustrated and once we arrived back home, emailed the manager to ask for a response to our problem stay. We never heard from them!? How's that for four-star customer service?

I feel they are misrepresenting the product they have to offer. It is not a luxury four-star where you pay more but get that bit extra for that. What it should be seen as is a brilliantly located hotel for those that will be out until all hours as you will be awake anyway!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The local tourist office recommended this hotel to us and we got a great last minute deal for B & b in a very comfortable room. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the castle, the design centre, shops and of course the many and varied pubs in this wonderful city. We had a disappointing meal in a nearby restaurant and wished that we'd eaten in the hotel where the food looked lovely. After a few pints of Guinness and some great music in a local pub we returned for a nightcap in the bar which was very pleasant and staffed in an efficient and friendly manor. The only downside with the room was that it was very warm and when we opened the window there was the continual rumbel of a boiler or generator in the back yard below.
But all in all a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeydee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

stayed in the hibernian hotel in early may 2010 with a group of friends. thoroughly enjoyed the experience, hotel is everything you could need in a city centre location with friendly and very professional staff. we will definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tango24778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Booked this hotel on the internet as it was advertised as deluxe room !!!! even though I still found it expensive but thought as it was a special occasion we would treat ourselves. We checked in and could not believe the room it was certainly not deluxe at all only barely standard there was no wardbrobe just hanging space and the bathroom was so tiny with a huge sink in the way.The sheets did not even fit the bed and they slid off all night but the worst was the noise form everyone returning in the early hours of the morning we were woken 4 times ! When we checked in we did ask to be moved but were informed that the hotel was completely full even though we saw afterwards an advert outside the hotel saying rooms still available at a great price. Also we were informed that all the rooms in the hotel were deluxe. I feel that this is false advertising as it showed a lovely picture of a room on the internet. The only good thing about this hotel is that the location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Got into Kilkenny via train. Easy walk from the train station to the hotel (we had backpacks). Streets are a little difficult to navigate because signs are hard to see (on sides of buildings, sometimes...).

Hotel was quite beautiful - great location, pretty old bar w/ wooden panels overlooking street, rooms had nice linens and were very clean. When you make reservations online, this hotel has a section to request items to be in your room. I ordered a bottle of sparkling wine. Upon checking in, we went to our room and no wine. I called the front desk, they were clueless and they said they'd fix it. Over a half hour later the chilled wine arrived. Be warned - at check out, they double charged us for the wine. Make sure to double and tripple check your receipt.

In the evening, went to the hotel bar. Had a REALLY good Irish Coffee and enjoyed their Bread Pudding dessert. Couldn't figure out whether staff was rude or just in general locals keep to themselves. We found we had to walk to a server at the bar to request another round of drinks or food. Making eye contact / flagging a server generally didn't work.

Breakfast was included in our package and was quite good. Server was very friendly and food was tasty.

Otherwise, Kilkenny Castle is not even a 5 minute walk. Oh - the hotel also has a decent assortment of local activities like clay shooting and horseback riding. I'd probably recommend emailing them before your visit to make such arrangements. We didn't have much luck day of setting things up, but their activiites looked fun.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferJMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £74 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Kilkenny – Excellent location - show map One of our top picks in Kilkenny. In Kilkenny city centre, the award-winning 4 star boutique, Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers luxury accommodation, Harper's Restaurant and 2 leading bars. In the shadow of Kilkenny Castle, the Hibernian Hotel is in the heart of Kilkenny city. Originally the Hibernian Bank, this 18th Century building overlooks the Parade, popular because it's close to Kilkenny Castle and the Kilkenny Design Centre. Just under 2 hours from Dublin, the Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel offers you traditional charm in this vibrant city. Guest parking is available in a multi-story car park opposite the Hibernian Hotel, free of charge between 18:00 and 12:00 the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing