We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, IE
Level Contributor
226 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Super stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Back again to this hotel cos I liked it last time. Checked in really late, was made very welcome and got a lovely room. Very quiet and had a very good breaksast and a speedy check out. The hotel room as spacious, very comfortable and it was really all I could ask for. Very central and very good car park across the street

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    220
    96
    48
    40
See reviews for
91
351
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Great location
Very good food menu, to suit all tastes and a great atmosphere in the bar for a nightcap.
Looking forward to returning with the family next time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roykeanecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

First of all I was very disappointed with the room, located on the 1st first floor. It quickly became clear that the standards of a 4-star hotel were badly missing. The room was small, too warm, poorly furnished and overlooking a dirty backyard. There were stains on the bed cover, hair in the bathtub and sink and no shower head.

What was supposed to be a romantic week end, turned into a nightmare on the Saturday night. The music of the night club kept us awake until 2am, there was simply no sound proofing and the noise was the same as if we were on the dance floor. The noise from the club quieted down at around 2am but then our lovely neighbours from the 1st floor, coming back from a hen party, decided to share their excitement with us.

The noise was so bad that we couldn’t get any sleep until 5.30am and that was with the help of earplugs. I’m young, normally sleep very heavily and can surely understand a bit of amusement. But this was simply no respect.

I rang the reception to warn them about the noise and kindly ask them to check the rooms as at this time it was already 3am. I naively assumed in a 4-star hotel the matter could only be treated accordingly.

The reception person didn’t bother to patrol on the floor just to check the noise and didn’t offer any kind of consolation such as earplugs or even offer to change rooms.
I might as well assume this person was deaf, as the noise coming from the first floor would be clearly heard from the reception area. There was no way it couldn’t be noticed.
I simply cannot understand how this behaviour can be tolerated in a 4-star hotel and how the staff decided to ignore the matter when alerted by customers.
Surely the hotel cannot control their customer behaviour but they can at least accordingly address the matter although both my night time call and my comments in the morning have kindly been ignored.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiiikouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had gone to this hotel with great trepidation after reading other reviews but to be honest ,our complaints were small.This hotel is not as modern as others but we found it be be spotless and with very friendly staff.Originally we were allocated a room on the first floor which was very clean and had the biggest bath I have ever seen in any hotel.However it was only apparant late that night that we were situated right beside the nite club.It was extemely noisy as as other reviewers have commented on,the stragglers outside were very loud.We didnt get peace until after 5.30 am but this is not the hotels fault .We complained the next day and the receptionist couldnt do enough for us.He promptly upgraded us to the penthouse suite at no extra charge which was a huge bonus.We found the staff to be polite and friendly and couldnt fault it after that.We have read bad reviews about the price of parking but we were informed on checking in that we could purchase a 3 day parking ticket for €10 which is very reasonable for city centre rates.We had meals out both nights and found them to be excellent value for money and there was plenty of restaurants to choose from.We would use this hotel again but we would ask for a room front of house as the niteclub operates on fri and sat.Overall ,we had a great weekend and would come again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dub39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
160 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Booked a suite - the website staes that the suites represent...' luxury, space and a sense of being pampered' ...in my opinion they are tired (examples bath plug broken, Toilet bowl coming away from wall, sellotape holding TV remote control together) and have minimal furniture and bedding which is dfeinitely not luxurious.

Restaurant was very dark, food very good.

Staed on a Saturday evening - noise from nightclub very loud until early morning, then noisr from drunks outside even worse (not hotel fault) and noise from police sirens even louder (also not hotel faulty)...would think very hard about booking over a weekend again.

Overall I think this was just about a 3 star - mdefinitely not 4 star and expensive for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed there Sat Night Aug 28th, Very nice location right in the centre of Kilkenny
and beautiful facade outside.
Arrived 1.00pm - told sorry cannot book in as your room is not ready, come back in an hour, left bags amongst a heap of other's bags behind reception. When we came back later there was a queue - most peoples rooms were not ready, ours was tho. ( its 2.50pm at this stage)
When got to room - it was shabby and tired, the shower door wouldnt stay closed, the drawers were loose on their runners, the windows had missing catches etc. the whole upstairs spoke 2star to lower 3star accommodation. At night the street noise was intense and not shielded at all by the ancient single-glazed windows, there was no aircon. When we went to get our car next morning it appears that the hotel only offers a discount on the nighttime rate at the car park and you have to pay full price for the daytime part!

In its favour its not a bad place, the prices were not 4star and the location is fantastic.
If you want to be at the heart of the action and dont mind the noise of the steet cleaning truck for what seemed like hours its the place for you.

However its trading on the location and the facade.
Makes me wonder who rates hotels in Ireland as this is not the first time ive seen 4stars where they are not merited!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairb356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The likelihood of satisfaction with the Hibernian is largely dependent on your reason for staying there. If you're part of a large group and the purpose of your visit is to go out on the town and stay out late (ergo you won't be around to hear the loud music from the late bar/will pass out without noticing it), you may find its central location and late license ideal. On the other hand, if you have ideas about getting to sleep any time before 2am and are unfortunate enough to get a room facing onto the street or on the first/second floor, you're going to be disappointed and/or infuriated.
Noise aside, the hotel is dark and rather gloomy. Rooms are painted a custard colour, which absorbs every photon of light; windows are small; beds are relatively comfortable but the sheets don't fit properly. Bathrooms are adequate but the showers are not particularly good (in the first room the water pressure and temperature didn't respond to the controls; in the second, the shower-head leaked). The building feels jaded; so, too, did the full Irish breakfast. It appeared on the table in record time after ordering, leaving the suspicion that it had been cooked several hours previously. Incidentally, breakfast ending at 10am on a weekend morning is quite early.
With the exception of one obnoxious individual, each member of staff was friendly and helpful. They are probably the best feature of the Hibernian. I would be unlikely to choose this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Address: 1 Ormonde St, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#10 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernian Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing