We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“affordable accommodation”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Located in walking distance of the city is the best part of staying here. Free WiFi large dining area, large common area. Friendly helpful staff. Very busy during our two day visit. Seeing Kilkenny is a definite, great city.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vera O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
19
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the outside this hostel looks old and ran down and in the hallways and common room this theme continues. We stayed as a group of 5 friends in a 6 bed dorm. I have to say the room was nice, freshly painted and very clean. The bathrooms and shower facilities were also kept immaculately clean. The kitchen is good well equipped & spotless. The location of this hostel is also very good, walking distance to everything. My main issue with this hostel is that the rooms were very cold, the duvets are thin so make sure your bring something warm to wrap up in or else you will freeze during the night. Also the Wifi does not work at all no matter what part of the building you are in. Check out time is 10am in the morning. The staff do seem quite friendly and helpful. The price is fine, fairly average for a hostel of that standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YelloSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was a beautiful and cozy place to stay in the heart of the wonderful city of Kilkenny!!!Staff was kind and helpful and the rooms were very clean.The building was a traditional georgian one.the hostel was very close to the castke,the cathedral and all the shops and pubs...We had a small problem with the hot water in the showers.Wi fi was a problem too,but who needs internet when you are in Kilkenny!!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a party hostel, Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is not for you! (At least when I stayed there it wasn't.) This hostel was homely, warm, comfortable and impeccably clean. The kitchen is spotless and the common room has a nice fireplace that's going every night. The only downside is being located 20mins from the train station, but it's a beautiful and scenic walk with no hills, so that wasn't much of a bother. This hostel was located close to everything else central which made for a quiet, slow paced and comfortable stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 221197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We got a family room with bathrooms nearby. Clean, friendly, well-run. And a real bargin. Cheap parking nearby. Comfortable and spacious lounge, kitchen and dining areas. And they did our laundry too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Four of our family stayed two nights in the four bed room. Another stayed in an 8 bed women's room. A lovely peaceful old Georgian terraced building. Minimally changed which means the character is preserved. A find. All the hotels were booked as it was opening weekend of the excellent Kilkenny Arts Festival, so we found ourselves here by chance, and were glad we did.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back. They were very quiet despite the fact that there was street noise to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codladh-samh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This Hostel is one of the cutest, I've ever been ! It's very very tidy and clean, the rooms are lovely ! You get information about everything, and it's situated at the opposite of lot's of great pubs. I can really recommend this Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Property: Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Address: 35 Parliament Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel is the best located Hostel in Kilkenny with great low prices, the friendliest staff and lots of guests from all over the world to socialise with. There's a mix of dormitories and private rooms, free WiFi and computer access, a fully equipped kitchen to cook in, tea and coffee, and lots of information on how to see Kilkenny like a local. Plus there's free lockers, free towels, and a cheap laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kilkenny Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing