We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a short break”
Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Pleasantly surprised at this place. Great service from the staff and the restaurant is well worth a shout. Fantastic meal but book your room early. Ladies....one tip or my advice to the hotel pease can you supply conditioner as there was none despite decent shampoo and wash. Varied breakfast and perfect location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bratacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Loved this place!!!! Most Irish hotels are not equiped for extreme heat neither are most young children however the staff were fantastic always ready and eager to assist with fans and ice. The rooms were warm but sufficiently equiped to meet our needs, clean and tidy. The food was absolutely fabulous, as one reviewer points out not a huge selection but plenty to choose from and well prepared, presented beautifully and absolutely delicious. I'd rather a small menu done well personally. The staff were a pleasure to deal with, extremely efficient and always eager to help. Overall I cannot say how impressed we were. Looking forward to staying here again and would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for one night enroute from Dublin to Killarney. You really can't beat the price of this place -- but don't expect many extras/luxuries. The pictures of the rooms on the website, etc., look beautiful, but once you arrive, you can't help but feel everything is just a little too basic and just a tiny bit cramped. We were in Ireland during a particularly warm spell, and the room was a little warm, so make sure you'll be okay not having A/C or a fan if you stay here. WIFI worked great. Having breakfast included was a plus, though the included options are not extremely extensive. The food was tasty though -- also, try the desserts in the cafe. Absolutely fantastic! In the end, we got a good night's sleep for a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeakerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

A great small hotel, with lovely staff, perfect location and quality food. Stayed 2 nights snd nothing was too much bother. A good base to explore this part of Ireland and to come back to each night. Lots of space and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omarriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed in Zuni for 1 night and had 3 rooms for the 5 of us. Our 3 young adult children had 2 rooms down the hall from us.
The Good: The kid's rooms were huge. Especially by European standards. Bathrooms were large as well. Windows opened for fresh air. Great location near the castle and the shops. Breakfast was wonderful-we could order from their small menu. Lots of food and nicely presented. It was served in a very timely manner. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Bad: The beds were too firm (personal preference). We couldn't figure out how to control the room temperature ourselves so we were a bit too warm overnite. Our shower broke and created quite a mess. They came up immediately upon our calling and tried to fix it but could not. They offered us another room for showering but we just used our kid's rooms. So, although it was an inconvenience to have the shower break, I think they handled it the best way possible.
Bottom Line: I would recommend this hotel and would stay in it again myself if we were to travel to kilkenny.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4annmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Zuni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Hi Ann-Marie
Thank for your feedback and I really appreciate your recommendation.
The problem with the shower was that the control knob broke and so the water could not be turned off. This was replaced immediately and is now working as it should.
Sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for your co-operation on the day. (The night-porter has since changed into dry clothes and is slowly recovering from the ordeal!!!)

Hope you enjoyed the your visit to Ireland.
Best Wishes
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Zuni Hotel is centrally located. The staff is lovely and the food at their restaurant was some of the best I had while in Ireland. My room was large and very comfortable. It's a great place to stay during a visit to Kilkenny!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patty_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Owner at Zuni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Hi Patty

Thank you so much for your kind comments.
Hope you had an enjoyable stay in Ireland.

Best Wishes
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This small hotel is in a great location and is part of a Food Trail. We were pleased with the hotel, the location was excellent, the restaurant was very good, and our room was clean. The free parking was a bonus. While staying here visit the restaurant, they source many ingredients locally.

Room Tip: The rooms are not large and there's not many of them so request one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,039 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing