We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going the Extra Mile”
Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Going the Extra Mile”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were all set to stay at the Zuni Hotel on Sept 16-18th. It would have been our 1st night in Ireland. We were tired. Had come from Dublin, did some sightseeing along the way. When we arrived, we were told there was no one registered by our name. I had the paperwork to show we were. The gentleman at the Front Desk told us to come in anyways( we actually had called inquiring where their parking was) and he would find a place for us to stay. When we got there, He booked us at the Kilkenny Ormonde, a short walk from the Zuni. How awesome was that! We had actually taken the last room at the Ormonde. He then looked at my paperwork and suddenly he said, "This is for 2014". He checked his Registration for next year and indeed we were set for next Sept. THANK YOU to the gentleman who made things right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    110
    34
    19
    10
See reviews for
42
185
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Quirky boutique hotel in lovely medevial town. Good walking town but watch out for traffic on the narrow streets. Risky for drivers and pedestrians. Shane was very helpful from the front desk and gave excellent recommendations for pubs and restaurants. The free parking area is well hidden behind the hotel but accessed from a narrow street on the corner. Safe area and no noise problems from the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The food was fabulous, the staff couldnt have been more helpful and friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the location was great.....can not think of one flaw. I will be coming back as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatterboxsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellendale, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We finished our one week Southern Ireland tour in Kilkenny & the Zuni Hotel was the only modern hotel we stayed in.
We were very impressed with the service & the bar at the front of the hotel is very nice. It is where breakfast is served, which was very good. Terrific location, just up the road from the center.
The rooms, whilst modern, lacked real quality, bland, with lots of ikea type furniture, & incredibly noisy with (I think) kitchen exhaust fans just underneath our window & this effected our sleep, downtime in the room.
We would return to the bar, even try the restaurant, were we to return to Ireland (although unlikely), however, we would probably try a more traditional hotel next time.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front to avoid noise from the kitchen vent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Spent one night in this hotel driving through Ireland and it was lovely. The hotel is in the centre of town, just further up off the main hub and near Kilkenny Castle. Rooms were great - large, really clean and modern with great facilities and amenities.

Breakfast was included in our meal and was great, we had some scones with amazing vanilla bean cream - delicious (though there are more options to chose from)! There is also a nice looking restaurant attached at the back of the hotel that we didn't try, but looked quite nice. Across the road is a fabulous Indian restaurant called Royal Spice that served some of the best Indian I have ever eaten!

If you are parking at the hotel, you need to drive around the back a few streets and they buzz you into the car park, not the simplest way of doing things so maybe pull in on the main street (or contact ahead to get instructions) run inside to let them know you're here and then when around the back give them a buzz to let you in.

Great stay if you're visiting Kilkenny!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The room was smallish but comfortable and attractive. Bed was very comfortable, we slept well, but I wish they had a sheet as well as the nice duvet - got kind of warm, but we cracked the windows open and that helped. We lucked into wonderful 70s weather on our trip to Ireland but found the Irish hotel keeps don't appear to believe in top sheets! :) Or a/c. Guess warm weather isn't that common. Good strong shower. Service was very good and the food was wonderful - we had both dinner in the downstairs restaurant and the breakfasts included with the b&b stay, both were excellent. Extremely convenient location downtown.

Cons: parking was a bit tricky to get into, I think they have to buzz you past the gate in the lot behind the b&b. The carpet on the hotel stairs needs to be replaced, starting to look worn, the chair in our room had a stain on it, and our light fixtures in the bathroom spontaneously broke which was kind of odd - perhaps they were new and something about the fan vibration was bad for them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Zuni is by all means a nice spot in Kilkenny and the restaurant is nice for breakfast or dinner. We just felt the rooms were cheap feeling, kind of gross carpet and a very motel like bathroom that needed an update. Clean, yes, but just kind of eeck... As others said, the mattress was cheap and sloped funny. its just an Ikea furniture type room and if you take away that modern look its kind of a very basic hotel. And no real charm to the service. The location is great though. Just equal or better values to be had next time around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytraveler1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Property: Zuni Hotel
Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing