We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sleepless in kilkenny” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sleepless in kilkenny”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

this was the 7th time we have stayed in zuni, but will be our last. we love kilkenny, and the hotel is in a nice location, but over the past few years the quality has really slipped. the room was really stuffy, with constant tapping throughout the night coming from heating or some system. we have two young kids and a night away on our own is a rare treat, but got no sleep whatsoever. in the morning an aircon fan outside our window kicked in and whatever hope we had of a lie in was ruined. i mentioned it when checking out but got no sut out of the guy at the desk, and i was made feel as thiugh i was making it up. having read some other reviews i can see i wasnt the only one to have experienced very similar problems. it is not cheap, and for the kind of money you are being charged here i would expect much much better in terms of comfort, quality and customer service. i will be staying elsewhere next time we get to kilkenny

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank avb0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    105
    30
    18
    10
See reviews for
39
160
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a find - great, very big room in a perfect location. Staff were fantastic and the restaurant was an amazing bonus! The staff at breakfast were also fantastic. We would not hesitate to stay here again and to recommend the Zuni hotel and restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel was really lovely. The room was very tastefully decorated with some nice ideas you would happily take home for your own bedroom. The room was lovely and warm when you opened the door which added to the welcome.
Unfortunately we arrived too late to sample the restaurant - gutted - as we had heard good things.
Breakfast was great - which made us more upset we missed dinner.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolynheritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Zuni was a good stop for us. Friendly service, free parking, clean rooms. Would have given them 5 stars except for the thin walls and doors. Friday night got a little loud.
It has an exceptional breakfast! Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Right from the booking we found this hotel a pleasure, great staff, great hotel and great service. We booked last minute on our tour of Ireland and after staying in a number of disappointing hotels along the way the Zuni was a breath of fresh air. Boutique style rooms, great food, free parking, good wifi. First impressions from the outside are deceptive, a hidden gem lies within, don't judge a book by its cover. Thank you to all at the Zuni.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nutty_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights the October Bank Holiday weekend 2013.From arrival to departure couldn't find fault with anything.The bedroom was modern and spotless clean as was the unsuite Bathroom.

The staff at this hotel are very experienced in all departments friendly and very helpful.They are all a great asset to their employer.

There is free parking at the rear of the Hotel and it is easy to find if you take the turn up between the Hibernian Hotel and the multi story Carpark directly across from the carpark is like an alleyway with a red barrier this is where you will find the Zuni's carpark.

There is a restaurant at this hotel, although we didn't use it on this occasion it was always very busy "a good sign one might assume"

We look forward to our next visit to this Hotel and would have no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fagan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were all set to stay at the Zuni Hotel on Sept 16-18th. It would have been our 1st night in Ireland. We were tired. Had come from Dublin, did some sightseeing along the way. When we arrived, we were told there was no one registered by our name. I had the paperwork to show we were. The gentleman at the Front Desk told us to come in anyways( we actually had called inquiring where their parking was) and he would find a place for us to stay. When we got there, He booked us at the Kilkenny Ormonde, a short walk from the Zuni. How awesome was that! We had actually taken the last room at the Ormonde. He then looked at my paperwork and suddenly he said, "This is for 2014". He checked his Registration for next year and indeed we were set for next Sept. THANK YOU to the gentleman who made things right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Property: Zuni Hotel
Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing