We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in town.”
Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Right in town.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Zuni was a little hard to find, but once we were parked in their free parking lot, we didn't have to drive anymore. Lots of restaurants and pubs nearby, a block from the Kilkenny Castle, and walking distance to old churches and shopping. Near the river.

My single room had a double bed, a desk, closet and shelves, coffee maker, TV, and good wifi. A light sleeper, I didn't hear much in the way of noise from the outside, but I did hear everyone in the rooms upstairs when they took showers. The included breakfast included orange juice, coffee or tea, and choices of three different types of meals. A good choice for exploring Kilkenny.

Room Tip: A second floor room might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderwaterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    110
    34
    19
    10
See reviews for
42
186
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nites at The Zuni Hotel in July. The location is just a 5 minute walk from everything! Room was comfortable and clean, bathroom had lots of shelf space for items. The shower is a small stall and does not have even a soap holder, but the door slides easily enough to use the toilet top for sundries. The front desk staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful - always a smile and hello as we came and went. The only reason I can not rate them all 5 pts is b/c of the middle-of-the-night, late night noise from the restaurant below our room. We were on the floor directly above the restaurant and the late nite patrons and/or staff were not quiet after the bar/restaurant closes ( talking VERY loudly, smoking). The room window and the restaurant open into a courtyard and the noise is amplified and echos.... even ear plugs could not help. I would think that the staff would have been told ( many times) to ( kindly) move very boisterous patrons out of the area and that their own loud conversations need to be taken to the street and not the courtyard or back parking lot. Yes,it was a busy Friday/Saturday in Kilkenny and noise is to be expected...but not at that level. I do highly recommend this hotel, but try to get a room that does not have a window that opens into the courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catdancin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel but had a meal in the restaurant on a busy Friday evening. They provide a set menu until 7.30pm which has a great choice and is excellent value. The quality of the food was superb and portions were surprisingly generous. The staff were very efficient but lacked charm and warmth. However the service is very professional and I have and will recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shimlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co Down
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights bed and breakfast in the suite. The bathroom was a little tired otherwise our stay would have been just ok, the relaxed atmosphere at breakfast along with great food made our stay memorable in all the right reasons. The staff at breakfast were super full marks, they made the stay great. We have eaten in the Zuni restaurant during other stays in Kilkenny and meals have been great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobthedog198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great Hotel, perfect location. Food is really nice, Staff are really helpful. Found it a bit tricky to find car park. Rooms are really modern and stylish. Hotel is spotless everything is really clean. Great hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: My room at the back was noisy in the morning with the extractor fan from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is located just two minutes away from Kilkenny Castle and the center of town. The rooms were spacious, shower was large, comfortable with hot water and good pressure. Breakfast (served at the hotel's cafe, no buffet) is standard - several choices of eggs or full irish breakfast, toast with butter/jam, coffee/tea and orange juice. The hotel has an elevator, so don't worry about heavy luggage.

The hotel entrance and parking are a bit hard to find (the entrance to the parking lot is from a small alley behind the hotel), but we just called the hotel and they explained how to get there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoavShany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and i spent a fab weekend in Zuni back in may. We were lucky enough to have an evening meal included in our stay and I have to say the food is amazing. The staff were very polite and helpful the only grip I would have is the bedrooms need a bit of TLC. Breakfast is a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Property: Zuni Hotel
Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing