We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Hotel is a tiny botique place in the heart of Kilkenny. Room is small in comparison to US hotels but plenty large for two people. Room was neat and modern. Staff were very friendly but a tad slow to respond to a minor problem we had in our bathroom. Would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hd1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    109
    31
    19
    10
See reviews for
40
173
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dundalk
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

we stayed in zuni on 27th and 28th march th hotel is small and is a lovely hotel.the problen we had was our room was above the bar area of the hotel and a 50th birthday party that boomed till early morning it was impossible to sleep finally when the music stopped the racket started next door and in the hallways where rows broke out which was not stopped by any staff and continued till almost seven in the morning we went for breakfast exhausted .we were hopeing for a nice relaxing break. when we told management we got a sorry was all they could say.it was a nightmare .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndaqoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

Great hotel, the breakfast was the tastiest "full irish" I ever had. parking out the back as well. Room was lovely it was a twin room not huge in size but beautifully decorated and modern. We did have a problem with waiting for hot water for shower before checking out but we were told to take our time.
All in all I would stay there again, it was just lovely!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YveyCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

stayed here for the weekend. was a lovely hotel very helpful staff. room was well decorated and bed was very comfortable, great location within walking distance of the shops, restaurants and pubs. only negative report was the banging of the pipes in the ceiling above the room. i was awake for about an hour due to the pipes cooling and causing a loud banging noise in the ceiling. Overall an enjoyabke stay.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank claire09Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

Zuni is in need of some serious tweaking to make it a top notch place. The doors to the rooms have a spring so they close so quickly that they slam and the sound echos in the hallway which makes for interrupted sleep as fellow travelers arrive and leave. Everytime I went in or out I forgot to grab the door to slow it down, so I'm sure everyone in the hotel heard my door as much as I heard everyone elses. Actually, our door handle fell off at one point and had to be replaced. When I first arrived, I thought the room appeared very clean with a comfortable bed and crisp white linens. Unfortunatly, the bathroom had a musty smell which I didn't notice right away. Also, the draperies didn't close properly so we had daylight streaming in the window in the morning waking us up and along with slamming doors I didn't get to enjoy the comfortable bed. The private secured parking was a plus, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is superb. Overall, I felt that the price we paid for the room was not justified. Why Karen Brown recommends this "Boutique Hotel" is beyond me. The furniture was cheap looking.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise level in hallway, musty smell in bathroom, drapery not closing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Designer-at-Large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

As we often go to Kilkenny, I try to stay in diferent places each time. I was saving the Zuni for a special occasion and so went this weekend. Lets start at the begining, Nice web site, booked out at first, got a room closer to the weekend. On arrival could not find the carpark, called the hotel and they guided me to it. Had to call them again to get in. Reception,an after thought. Dark, tucked away in a corner, not the Boutique welcome I was expecting. Check in, ok, standard. The lift, small, dark, cloustrophobic. Our room 301, had to walk past beds, tables, chairs piled up. The place was so hot, no windows open. It smelt of old linen, wet towles etc. The room was ok, cheap furniture and no maintenance plan. Plug hanging from a wall, no lamp shade in bathroom, shower head in a real mess. Had asked for a bottle to be in the room, it was. Bar, dead, lifeless. Breakfast was spot on. Had to help two girls that work there to move beds from one floor to the next as there was nobody to help and they were having real trouble.
On arrival back to the hotel on Sat night, we found our fire exit to be totally blocked for two floors by used linen bags( source of smell also!)
Check out, no conversation, not asked how things were, very cold.
Boutique hotels are something special. You pay that bit more for the little differences and special care and attention.This is not a Boutique Hotel, it is a very standard 2 to 3 star that hired an interior designer once and then thought that was it. Will not be back, you will get a lot better, a lot cheaper in kilkenny, believe me.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — lack of management
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

Stayed at Zuni for a Bank Holiday weekend with a friend and was very impressed with the room - modern, good size, clean and comfortable. The townhouse is centrally located next to the shops, restaurants and bars.

The breakfast was a selection of pastries, cereals and Irish breakfast cooked upon ordering with fruit jucies, tea and coffee - it was GREAT! We were so impressed with their home made bread that they were kind enough to give us the recipe!

The only down side to our stay, was the terrible noise we woke up to in the early hours, caused by a group of drunken girls that had the 3 rooms next to ours and all we could hear was doors slamming and shouting.

We ate in the Restaurant on the Sunday night, as we were unable to get a table on the Saturday as they were fully booked. The food was very good and would definately recommend a meal there, but if you want to go on a Saturday then make sure you book. The restaurant was very quiet on the Sunday night, so it didn't have such a good atmosphere and we felt a little rushed by the waiting staff, but on the whole we had a good experience.

Overall I would definately recommend the hotel - unfortunately you can't control the noise levels of selfish fellow guests!

  • Liked — the modern decoration - great!
  • Disliked — Being woken up at 2am by fellow guests!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Property: Zuni Hotel
Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing