We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2006

For the prices that are charged, I was a little disappointed in this hotel. It is far from being a budget option and I expected more in terms of the room and service for the amount paid

I found that the front desk staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful, but the staff in the restaurant and bar were friendly and efficient. Our room probably looked very trendy when the hotel opened, but at this stage it could do with being redecorated. Some of the red paint had chipped off the walls, the dark furniture was stained with cup marks and the black carpet had definitely seen better days. However, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and we both slept very well – despite some noise from the fans.

The biggest disappointment was the bathroom. For somewhere that presents itself as a designer boutique hotel, I was very surprised to find that it resembled my idea of a bathroom from a horrible dingy bedsit. The tiles were cracked, the wood panelling that fronted the bath was rotten, and the power shower (although good in itself) was too much for the shower door, with the result that there was a flood all over the floor every time we used it.

Our package included dinner in the hotel one evening, and I must say that this was the highlight. The food was excellent and it was a very enjoyable evening. All in all a mixed experience – it was somewhat frustrating as we could see that the hotel was obviously once fantastic. I think I would try to stay somewhere else if I was in Kilkenny again, but I would definitely return for the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zebedee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2006

We set off from Dublin expecing a relaxing night in Kilkenny. Unfortunately, Zuni did not live up to expectations (or price). The room was small, stuffy, hot and dark, with a window overlooking the courtyard with the fans from the restaurant right outside. We were assured that the fans stop when the restaurant closes, which they did. However, the noise from the fans was replaced by worse - a very loud humming noise which we think probably came from the heating pipes, even thought the radiator was switched off. This finally stopped in the early morning, to be replaced by the fans! Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Erniebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank society
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin,Ireland
18
Reviewed 26 September 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
14
Reviewed 28 February 2005

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £78 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing