We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy small hotel with good breakfast and free parking in city”
Review of Zuni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zuni Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed here on March 15th 2010 in a nice, modern room on the 2nd floor. It was apparent that the hotel/B&B (It was more of a B&B but without the family owned feel) had spent quite a bit of money renovating and decorating their rooms. The bathrooms were updated and very clean. I really appreciated the crisp clean decor of the room.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. I do think the management might want to look into getting more staff to work in the mornings, as the same person who made our breakfast, took our order and cleared the table also checked us out. That'd be fine in a small B&B but this 'townhouse' had quite a few rooms. She managed to do it all though without missing a beat.

We appreciated the free gated parking behind the building, and the fact that we were right in the city and able to walk to the castle and to pubs.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

This was one of our best stays in Ireland. Paul and his staff went out of their way to make the stay special. The rooms were well appointed and the restaurant was a highlight. The meal was as good as or better than those I have had in five star restaurants in New York, Paris and Rome. I would highly recommend a stay at the Zuni.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crfike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We drove to Kilkenny on a whim and had trouble finding a place to stay. We were referred to Zuni by another hotel. It's a small place (13 rooms), and the rooms are not spacious, but clean and cozy. The service was outstanding, especially since they only had one person at the desk and he was busy. We ended up getting the room with breakfast for 110 Euro, which I thought was pretty good. We had a blast in Kilkenny and enjoyed our stay at Zuni!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We visited Zuni at the weekend and stayed for 2 nights. They were absolutely fantastic hosts and we couldn't have faulted either the service or their standards. Their attention to detail is just spot on specifically with the accomodation and the restaurant food. We never stayed in Kilkenny before and the location was just perfect. Perfect for a lovely walk around the Kilkenny Castle and a visit to the shops. The standard of service is second to none and definately worth a visit if you are in Ireland. We will definately be visitng again without question and recommending it to our many friends.
BRILLIANT BRILLIANT BRILLIANT.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank ash292004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed 2 nights, 5/23 & 5/24, 2009. We had 4 adults in our party in 2 rooms.

We had to walk through a storage area of tables, and stools to get to our room; not very welcoming!

Shower is weak and the water sprays all over due to short shower door.

Late night street noise is horrific and the morning traffic wakes you up.

Clean, comfortable beds.
Great breakfasts.
Pleasant staff.

Over-priced was final impression. Will not return or recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevandjim1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Hotel is a tiny botique place in the heart of Kilkenny. Room is small in comparison to US hotels but plenty large for two people. Room was neat and modern. Staff were very friendly but a tad slow to respond to a minor problem we had in our bathroom. Would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hd1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

we stayed in zuni on 27th and 28th march th hotel is small and is a lovely hotel.the problen we had was our room was above the bar area of the hotel and a 50th birthday party that boomed till early morning it was impossible to sleep finally when the music stopped the racket started next door and in the hallways where rows broke out which was not stopped by any staff and continued till almost seven in the morning we went for breakfast exhausted .we were hopeing for a nice relaxing break. when we told management we got a sorry was all they could say.it was a nightmare .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndaqoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuni Hotel

Address: 26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#11 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £78 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free On-Site Parking Free Wi-FiCity Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zuni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuni Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing