We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic clean rooms but service in bar poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here with extended family in July 2011 for one night. There were fifteen in our group.

Staff very friendly on reception and helpful(Leanne). Unfortunately had to change room immediately for two reasons. No 1 it was a smoking room with very strong after smell from previous occupants. Strange choice considering we had 2 young children and we are non smokers. Tip to hotel please ask guests when booking if they are smokers !! Also it was a ground floor room right at the roadside. Again strange choice to put family here . In fairness we were changed straight away when we requested it so brownie points to the hotel for this good service.

We had to leave the hotel in the evening for a number of hours and had spoken to the manager about reserving an area in the bar for food as we were not returning until 8.30 and thought it would be helpful for the hotel to know that 15 people would need dinner. We were assured that this would be done, but apon return we were told no one knew anything about this and to speak to the barman. The poor barman was on his own,and so was trying to arrange seating while serving drinks. We ended up sorting our selves out in the end. Poor poor customer service(Again no reflection on very pleasant bar man just down to lack of staff). Dinner was good and reasonably priced

Overall this hotel is a little dated, and a bit understaffed but the staff do work hard. Cant comment on leisure facilitties as our trip was so short. It is a drive from centre of town.

Room Tip: Ensure if you are a non smoker you request non smoking room , and away from road which was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeeFeeTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

We shopped for a hotel in Kilkenny to host our parents recent 40th wedding anniversary and chose the Springhill Court Hotel.

They offered us a function room which was ideally suited to the number of guests. In liue of a formal sit down dinner we chose a buffet which was a great result and hit with our guests. The food, of which there was plenty, had great choice and was very well presented.

Each table was neatly dressed and decorated upon arrival with fresh flowers and fruit! The staff were very friendly and attentive and at no point were we left wanting. As our day progressed into evening and night, the hours seemed to fly and we were even offered further tea and coffee.

The hotel offered great assistance when organising our day, offering help with the choice of menu, help with music, etc.

My family and I had a truly memorably day which was helped in no small part by the exceptional staff at the Springhill Court Hotel.

I would strongly recommend the hotel.

Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmeally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ec123Kilkenny, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear RMeally,

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor and I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your celebrations with us and I thank you for the lovely comments on our food and service.

I hope to welcome you back to the Springhill Court Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Seamus O'Carroll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

dont stay on the ground floor absolutley filthy old shabby rooms - pics to follow of my lovely stained bedspread - oil on carpet - rust shower rail - mouldy tiles and not to mention the soap that was left there from the last guest - NICE!!!!! Pics to follow to back myself up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dublinhotelvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We spent 3 great nights in this hotel. The staff were fantastic. And most importantly the children.s menu was not everything with chips! We used the pool each day and loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ainefarrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear Aine,

Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay with your family at the Springhill Court Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind regards

Seamus O'Carroll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Rather ordinary. Food not great. Breakfast precooked and then heated. Hot water in taps just a trickle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pb2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear pb2113,

Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read your comments and I assure you that breakfast here at the hotel is freshly cooked and not reheated. I will certainly follow up with our maintenance team with regard to the hot water as this is very unusual and thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Kind regards

Seamus O'Carroll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Myself and my husband stayed at The springhill court hotel in June for 2 nights, we had our 2 year old boy with us. On arrival we were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist ( Leanne) who gave us all the info we would need ( lifts, leisure center restaurant etc). Our room was spacious and very clean the accommodation staff we always on hand if we needed anything.
We found the Leisure Centre brilliant for the child as he could stand in the child's pool with no hassle and the staff we very friendly and helpful.
We only had dinner one one of the nights we were there, the menu had plenty of choice and children were well catered for.
The only fault I would find is that it is a small bit away from the town center but otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return soon.
A big thanks to Leanne at reception for everything and Graham the Duty Manager who was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear Aine,

Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read your positive comments on the staff - Leanne and Graham in particular and I will pass on this feedback with pleasure.

I am pleased that you found the hotel and our menus child friendly and that you could relax at our leisure centre. While we are 1 mile from Kilkenny itself, we do offer a free taxi service and perhaps you can avail of this the next time you visit us.

Kind regards

Seamus O'Carroll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed here last weekend in a double room,checked in around 3 reception staff were lovely and very helpful .room very nice and clean with tea and coffee in rooms.we eat in the bar ,large menu with lots of choice.got the free taxi in to Kilkenny that night.overall had a lovely stay and will be back

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmo310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Dear Cosmo310,

Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read your positive comments on our reception staff, our bedrooms and the food here at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Kind regards
Seamus O'Carroll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £49 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3 star Newly Refurbished Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible, have ample free car parking on site and complimentary wifi. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Kupp Coffee Dock, Leisure Club, Image Hair Salon, Oscars Restaurant, popular Paddock Bar, new Children's Playground and Lenny Lion's Kids Club which operates during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff are at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing