We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Kells, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very poor room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed with wife & 2 kids for 3 long nights. Family room number 123. 4 foot 6 matress on a 4 foot base. Hollow in middle of bed. Small bits of rubbish under beds, needs a hell of a good cleaning. Ensuite door handle broken. Toilet roll holder hanging off wall. Shower handle broken and what was left was hanging off. Toilet seat could do with been replaced. Food was good in both bar and lounge, staff were nice and efficient. Someone went to the bother of putting fresh flowers in the restaurant and gents toilets but unfortunately they were 2 days late in removing the dead flowers. How can you "clean" somewhere and "miss" the vase of dead flowers. Leisure center was ok, nothing brilliant. I will not be back and will discourage others

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    200
    131
    88
    63
See reviews for
261
195
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked a three night stay here to include one evening meal for myself my husband and our four year old son. Upon arrival the first thing I noticed when we parked was the windows looked filthy and I got a sinking feeling as to how the inside would be if they didnt keep up with upkeep on the outside! We checked in at reception, very nice friendly lady - we went to our room and immediately rang reception to be moved. It was a ground floor room stinking of smoke. My four year old son commented on the nasty smell! FInd it very strange that a hotel will put a family and a pregnant guest in a smoking room? Anyway, we got moved to a room upstairs, exact same layout but minus the smoke. Very disappointing rooms. The furniture is disgraceful wood peeling off the units, filthy carpets that I would not walk in my bare feet in - bathroom very very small and not clean at all. Very dark room and one pillow per guest that is as flat as a pancake! My idea of staying in a hotel is for it to be a bit luxurious and comfy! We stayed out as long as possible every day, only returning to go to bed! It would not the type of room that makes you feel relaxed or comfortable. The corridors on the way to the rooms are filthy, they should invest in a hoover for the stairs. Breakfast in the mornings was ok, I just stuck to cereal after the first morning as the sausages looked very wrinkly and scrambled eggs were dripping with water! We ate in the restaurant the second night and the food was good, the waitress wasnt so good, but we didnt say anything, we just had to ask for our drinks about 4 times before they actually arrived - by this stage our main was being served. The kids club probably parents with older kids would appreciate, we only brought our son for a half an hour or so of the movie or disco night, but really it wasnt what we were there for so I wont comment on the kids club. Overall though this hotel definitely needs a revamp and definitely needs a good clean and rooms re-decorated. They may be cheaper that other hotels but still I would expect a lot more for what we paid for our stay. Very disappointing and we certainly wont be returning..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinKeira_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The rooms were great, food was good but not great. Whole experience was ruined by the AWFUL staff. Having worked in a hotel, I cannot believe the staff in this place. Sorry the receptionists were very nice. The bar staff, not the function bar staff but the staff in their main bar were just awful. I could see they were understaffed as it was a busy Sunday but those that were there were not very helpful, I was trying to order food and they kept pointing out a waitress that would take my order, this girl seemed to be walking laps of the bar and kept walking in and out the door and in and out of the kitchen, eventually the man behind the bar grudgingly took my order as it was obvious this girl was not going to, mind you he did wait about 15 minutes to do so. Then I got my food which was nice but there was not a lot of it and I was left hungry. We then attended a function there that night, the menu was great but again the staff were not, we asked for some bread for our table as we had been missed when they were giving out bread baskets, the waitress got very defensive and said she had not only brought us bread but also brought us extra bread, even though if she had bothered to pay any attention, none of our side plates had been used, clearly we had not got any bread, but after we explained this to her she brought us bread but did not apologize for her behaviour. The staff were helpful however in providing plain ice cream to some guests that did not want the dessert. My real problem with the staff occured the next day at breakfast. One member of staff, an older member, who wore a suit, female, and appeared to be some kind of manager or supervisor told me I could not come to breakfast in my night attire (I was wearing tracksuit bottoms and a tank top). At first I thought she was joking but it soon became apparent she was not. I have worked in hotels, if a customer decides to wear a santa costume to breakfast I cannot stop them. I could not believe I was actually treated like this. However another waitress at breakfast was very nice to me after this situation. I will NEVER return to this hotel after this situation at breakfast alone. I think this hotel should hold some serious staff training and should teach their staff to appreciate all the customers they get. There are plenty of people out their looking for jobs.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaneyDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Badly lit rooms. had to borrow plug in lamp .light over hand basin did not work .
Carpets were badly stained. quilt on bed was worn.
The furniture was very badly chipped.

Stayed here before and it was really enjoyable. Gone downhill big time since.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

My family and I stayed here on a family trip to celebrate my Mam's 60th Birthday, there was 14 of us in total. I think overall you get what you pay for. We got a good price for 3 nights B&B and dinner. The 2 family rooms were big & spacious (1 with 2 singles & 1 double, the other with 3 singles & 1 double), however the 3 double rooms were very small. Ours especially as we had 2 adults & our son who's 3 so we found the room very small. The bathrooms all need a thorough clean and we had chipped furniture in our room. My Mother also got a smoking room even though she's a non-smoker - they should really ask which guests prefer. However I cant fault the friendliness of all the staff and all the children in our group loved the pool. The lobby area is also large which is good for families in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doneraile, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Hotel needs a good cleaning throughout. The bedroom was adequate but carpet, windows ,curtains and bedspread was dirty. The sink and toilet was not properly cleaned. Also all the plates in the dining room had a scum on them, food was ok. The hotel is in a good location but has no style about it. There was one member of staff who was very friendly and helpful. Have stayed in other three star hotels which were much more up market and of better standard. Would not choose this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

just back today from springhill court and couldnt wait to review it after all the bad reviews i read ! how can reviews be so varied ??
myself, husband and 2 kids 7 and 4 loved it. my son cried leaving after meeting good friends there. the free kids club was the hi light . kids looked after from 6 to 10 while parents have well deserved break. kids loved lenny the lion who visits dining room while kids at breakfast.
food was gorgeous and availed of early bird menu which was great. 4 course for 20 euro.
ok i would agree with some reviewers that they could step up on housekeeping (bit of hoovering!) but small price to pay for happy kids which make happy parents !!!

Room Tip: ask for non smoking room and if light sleeper away from main road . v busy road even at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Property: Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3 star Newly Refurbished Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible, have ample free car parking on site and complimentary wifi. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Kupp Coffee Dock, Leisure Club, Image Hair Salon, Oscars Restaurant, popular Paddock Bar, new Children's Playground and Lenny Lion's Kids Club which operates during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff are at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing