We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Where can i start with this hotel. Over priced. Poor quality food. Unclean.Badly managed.We had a huge issue with health and safety with over crowding bedrooms by shoving in foldup beds and windows without safety catches to prevent children geting out.They dont read the special requirements section on their website when you make booking as we learned the hard way.Also the first hotel we have ever stayed in that demands payment upfront. An overall bad experience and will never stay here again. Overall a terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank topjock38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Topjock38

I have just read your review and am most disappointed. I had been informed by our reservations manager that you had indeed booked a room for 2 adults & 2 children, however rang en-route to advise us that you had indeed 4 children with you. During one of the busiest weeks of the year, we then accommodated you in our larger family room and obviously had to put in a camp bed to accommodate a family of 6. We do charge a supplement for our larger rooms. I do believe you were asked if you would like to speak with me on the first day of your stay, however you declined, I really would have preferred if you had spoken to me then rather than stating your unfavourable reviews on this site which were unfounded given the fact that you initially made an incorrect booking. I am sorry that you left the hotel with a conflicting view compared to all of the other families who stayed with us last week and if you would like to discuss this any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Seamus O Carroll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from 4th till 7th august with my mam and daughter. Rooms are really nice and spacious as we had a family room..plenty of space and storage. Kids club was an excellent part of our stay as my daughter enjoyed every minute as well as keeping her entertained throughout the day.. i would recommend this hotel to anyone with children during the summer..thanks again for a lovely stay and warm welcome..

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank browneyedgirly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Browneyedgirly25

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in the Springhill Court Conference,Leisure and Spa Hotel.I was delighted to hear you found our family room was of good size with plenty of space and storage.It was great to hear your daughter enjoyed the kids club and that you also you were greeted with a warm welcome.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Springhill Court on your next visit to this beautiful city of ours kilkenny.

Warmest Regards,

Seamus O Carroll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

the food was fab, service was fast and staff were so obliging. The service manager went out of his way to facilitate my fussy husband.
Minnie and Mickey Mouse also made an appearance and entertained both kids n young at heart!!
Def recommend this hotel for a break away - short taxi ride to kk castle!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grakilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Grakilkenny,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, the Springhill Court Conference Leisure and Spa Hotel, I am delighted we could accommodate all your needs and you found our staff obliging. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the entire team. I’m glad to hear that your children enjoyed Mickey and Minnie Mouse in our Lenny the Lion Kids Club.It’s a integral part of the hotel during the school holidays which proves very popular with our guests. We do hope to welcome you back to the Springhill Court Conference Leisure and Spa hotel.

Warmest Regards

Seamus O Carroll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend . Found the room v grubby and stuffy . Smell of cigarettes very strong . Food okay . Staff v nice . Defiantly needs a good overhaul .lots of noise at night with children running around until late.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LimerickMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear LimerickMarie

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Springhill Court Conference Leisure and Spa Hotel, I am disappointed to here that certain aspects of your stay where not to your satisfaction. As I can assure you this is not indicative of the standards we regularly provide to our guests. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further on this matter. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Springhill Court Conference Leisure and Spa Hotel in the future. Please contact me on the below email address. I look forward to hearing for you.

Warmest Regards

Seamus O Carroll

socarroll@springhillcourrt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Springhill court for 2 nights on a visit to Kilkenny. Good hotel overall, 'family rooms' are quite small though - we had one with one double & one single for 2 adults & 2 kids. We were out most of the time so wasn't too much an issue. Staff are very friendly & helpful especially in the leisure centre/kids club. Our kids had a great time with Aoife in the kids club! Leisure centre was excellent & spa facilities on site were also very good. The hotel should look at providing another family changing room as sometimes there was a wait for it to become free!! Overall a nice stay at a nice price

Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel. The front is facing the car park/road & can be noisy at times

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DublinRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Reverandkenjamin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel.
I’m glad to hear that your children enjoyed our Lenny the Lion Kids Club as it’s an integral part of the hotel during the school holidays which proves very popular with our younger guests.
We do hope we can welcome you back to the Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel in the not too distant future

Warmest Regards,

Seamus O Carroll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my wife and child for a weekend. Breakfast was good but you need to pay attention to the times, if you are a late riser it can be very busy. Staff were nice and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable but lacked something that made it feel like an economy hotel. Hotel has a bit of a strange layout where you have a bit of a walk to get the lift to the 2nd floor, something to consider for those with kids and all the baggage that that entails.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RM356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear RM 356,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel.

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and found the staff to be friendly and attentive.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.

Warmest Regards,

Seamus O’ Carroll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had the most amazing weekend in this fantastic hotel in Kilkenny- About 10 of us went down for a stag June 25th- Hotel was absolutely fabulous- couldn't believe it for the price!! We even had to cancel a few rooms before hand & 1 on the day ( the usual messing that goes on with stags) & there was no charge at all- couldn't believe it. Thx to Dawn & all the staff there who made the weekend all the more enjoyable- Pool, Jacuzzi & steam room were great too- will definitely be back soon - Paul

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shc123, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Paul J,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience during the weekend of your stay and that everything lived up to your expectations.
I have passed on the review to the team here as a means of thanking them in carrying out the tradition of providing a warm and friendly service. We are thrilled to hear that all the amenities that the hotel has to offer were up to your satisfaction. We are excited about having the pleasure of possibly accommodating you again soon at the Springhill Court Hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Seamus O’ Carroll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,065 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £49 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3 star Newly Refurbished Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible, have ample free car parking on site and complimentary wifi. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Kupp Coffee Dock, Leisure Club, Image Hair Salon, Oscars Restaurant, popular Paddock Bar, new Children's Playground and Lenny Lion's Kids Club which operates during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff are at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing