We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a serious makeover. Really dirty bedrooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed for a 3night break for our first trip away with a 3 month old baby. The room was disgustingly dirty - the walls were covered in splashes of dirt - it seemed to be years of neglect. All the lights were broken or bulbs missing. The travel cot was filthy - luckily we had friends nearby to call on to borrow one. The furnishings were worn to a thread. I think there might be an old and newly refurbished section - so maybe if you asked to stay in the new area things would be better? On the plus side the staff were really excellent, very friendly. Food was grand - its only a 3 star. Kids pool was ice cold. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ec123Kilkenny, General Manager at Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Dear ArdGal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to say that we have just started a complete refrubishment of the rooms in the hotel which will be completed over the coming weeks. I would be delighed to welcome you and your family back once these were completed. I am happy to see you noted the excellent staff and customer service during your trip.

Regards
Seamus O'Carroll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed here on our supervalue stamps for the mid-term break and you could'nt get better value. The staff, food & room where just right, for what we where looking for and paying!!! It's not in town but close enough with small children.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v4m08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I stayed at the Springhill recently, and I have to say that it was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The location is very convenient, the staff were some of the most pleasant and courteous I have ever met - they could not do enough to help us with anything. The bedroom I stayed in was perfect - I could not complain about anything in the Springhill. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is going to visit Kilkenny! As I said already - one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishgalwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

This is a lovely hotel on the outskirts of Kilkenny City. When I arrived I was greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist. The entire staff from accommodation to Management were interested in making my stay an enjoyable one. The food in the hotel was excellent. The leisure centre just makes the stay even better. While the hotel is not new it is well maintained. There is a lovely open reception area which is ideal for a leisurely cup of tea or surfing the net. Really can't think of anything bad to say about the hotel. It was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekender2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Stayed for one night at Springhill Court while traveling through Southern Ireland. Spent a day at the races nearby at Gowran Park and arrived at the hotel about 5 PM. It is a large sprawling facility - I believe only two stories high. Our family room was on the second floor, we took the elevator and I was immediately a bit worried. The halls were a bit beat up, the swinging doors leading to our part of the second floor had chipped paint, etc. Same story for our room...dirty grout, peeling wallpaper, beat up rugs, etc. This facility would not meet the quality assurance of a Hampton Inn. We decided to eat in the hotel since it had been a long few days... very expensive... fixed price menu of 35 Euro (converted to $50 USD at the time) for adults and 12.50 Euro for kids. The food and service were above average, but certainly not worth $50. Our room rate was 150 Euro, the most expensive, by far, of anywhere we stayed in Ireland. I did plenty of research for rooms in the area, however, when traveling with family, there are few choices in Ireland. Above all, be prepared for sticker shock. I would recommend for a family due to limited choices, but certainly not for two or three folks that could stay in a smaller room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

This is the first review I have written for trip advisor and only signed up to comment about the marvellous stay we had at the Springhill Court Hotel. We stayed in the hotel back in February and from the moment we arrived everything about the stay was fantastic. The staff were second to none, and having stayed and worked in five star hotels, they exceeded my expectations from beginning to end. The property itself was great with a fantastic leisure centre and spa. The rooms were spacious, immaculately clean and room for 3 of us in a family room. Great value for Monday and Kilkenny is a super spot – hotel even provides a free taxi service into the city
Overall a five star experience!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel as part of an organized coach tour of the local area.

I cannot agree with the bad reviews, albeit very few, of this hotel. I found it of exceptional quality - spacious clean bedrooms.

The reception area was clean and very bright and welcoming - and the bar was very accommodating and its staff very courteous always.

The one thing that stood out for us was the dining area. Not only was the food of the highest quality, the staff in there worked hard, and I mean HARD, to ensure everyone was fed on time and did not have to wait. One particular little Irish waitress could not do enough for everyone. At times she looked very tired as one of the nights they appeared understaffed and it was just her and, what I believe, to be the restaurant manager who were on duty. But, still, nothing was too much for them and we had our food served on time. Exceptional service of the highest standard. I have been to many hotels across the World and I have rarely seen such high standards.

This is a quality hotel, and I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkstown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel

Address: Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3 star Newly Refurbished Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny your break begins from the moment you leave home. Set out on your journey stress free knowing that we are easily accessible, have ample free car parking on site and complimentary wifi. The Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny is one of the best known hotels and if it is Kilkenny hotels you are looking for then look no further! Once you have arrived in Kilkenny City you can begin to enjoy our superb hotel facilities which include Lavender Spa, Kupp Coffee Dock, Leisure Club, Image Hair Salon, Oscars Restaurant, popular Paddock Bar, new Children's Playground and Lenny Lion's Kids Club which operates during all school holidays. Friendly, efficient staff are at your disposal for the duration of your stay. We pride ourselves on our standards of service and customer care, many guests return time and again to soak up the genuine, friendly atmosphere that prevails at the Springhill Court Hotel Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure Hotel Kilkenny
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure And Spa Hotel
Springhill Court Kilkenny
Hotel Springhill Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing