We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Mena House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mena House B&B
Ranked #4 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay while in Kilkenney. The home is beautiful and the rooms are quite spacious. Katherine really makes you feel welcome and is a wonderful consultant for things to do and see. The home is walking distance to the center of town and Katherine's breakfast is the best. Be sure to stay at Mena House in the Kilkenny are, we will when we return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    36
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
143
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hostess is very friendly, helpful with restaurant recommendations, maintains a fantastic B&B and serves a wonderful breakfast. It is conveniently located, yet still quiet. We had a very nice room on the first floor (hooray! ho stairs with luggage) which was quite roomy, and had wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 700Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Mena House and can not say enough how welcome and comfortable the owner,Catherine Molloy made us feel.Her home is beautiful,the breakfast exceptional and she was by far the most welcoming and friendly proprietor of any B&B we met on our trip!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Mena House was very comfortable and private and conveniently located within ten minutes of walking to Kilkenney. The proprietor was wonderful, Ms. Molloy went out of her way to ensure an enjoyable experience for all of her guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K-town
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Catherine Molloy, the owner of this B&B couldn't have been nicer via phone or in person. The home is located within a 15 minute walk into Kilkenny center, albeit part of it on the main roadway into town.
The breakfast was the best on our 12-day trip, beginning with fresh assortment of berries from her garden! Wow & yum!
Home beautifully furnished & accessorised. Lovely breakfast room as well. A definite 'keeper'! Go there, you won't be disappointed! We'll surely return on any future trip to Kilkenny!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AkDenizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Our third trip to Kilkenny and our first to Mena House.Superior to the 4/5 star hotels we previously stayed in.Rooms spacious and everything spotless.katherine,the owner exceptionally helpful and recommended trips and restaurants.Breakfasts amazing and everything you could ask for.
We will definately return to Mena House.
Couple from Derry.N.ireland

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank couple186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Mena was by far and away the best B&B I stayed at during my 7 day trip to Ireland. The hostess was SUPERB!! The room was fantastic - my bathroom was the biggest one I experience during my stay (that includes 5 other accommodations). Breakfast was outstanding, she created mine based on my unusual diet. This was amazing. It would be a treat to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JungaMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,885 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House B&B

Property: Mena House B&B
Address: Mena House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing