We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but........”
Review of Mena House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mena House B&B
Ranked #4 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good, but........”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Let me first start off with the fact that Catherine is a wonderful inn keeper and was most helpful. The room was clean, but you can hear people going to the bathroom in the room above you. Not just flushing, but the actual act. Something needs to be done with the plumbing. The biggest downfall is that the house reeks of cigarette odor. The bedrooms do not, but some of the other areas do. I realize how difficult it is to stop, but.... My wife is allergic to cigarette smoke and it did cause a problem. Outside of that, Catherine is a wonderful innkeeper.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    35
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
140
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very comfortable B&B. Location is in a quiet residential area. Preferable to have a car to stay there. The room is lavishly furnished. Nice dining area. You order your breakfast, whatever you want from a set menu.Our host was very helpful in giving tips on where to go, and the best way of getting there, not just in Kilkenny but the drive round Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiumt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our family stayed at the Mena House for one night during our three week family vacation of England, Scotland, & Ireland. Katherine was an outstanding hostess and city steward, providing us a wealth of information about the city and the country. In addition to providing us detailed review of the city, best walking trails, things to see and do, she also was an invaluable resource in advising us on the rest of our time in Irish country side. This included adjusting some of our original planned routes, to enable us to avoid heavy tourist areas, while seeing beautiful out of the way spots.

The family room we stayed in was quaint and very large for European standards and overlooked the back garden of the house. As mentioned by an number of others, we were challenged to find accommodations for our family (2 Adults & 2 Kids), and were pleased by what we found at Mena house.
We found the location ideal to explore all that Kilkenny had to offer. We were a short walk (10-15 min) to downtown Kilkenny, Kilkenny Castle, and shops and pubs. We loved the breakfast that was provided each morning and appreciated the opportunity to select what we would have each morning (you select your breakfast options the night before). I thoroughly enjoyed the traditional Irish breakfast, while my wife & daughter preferred a lighter (toast, fruit & cereal) start to the morning.
Overall we were very impressed with our stay and were very pleased with the accommodations, the hospitality, and hosts - Thanks Katherine!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed with Katherine June 2014. The rooms and breakfast room are really lovely and the garden is stunning too. Katherine is very warm/friendly and very forthcoming with information. Mena House is a short 10 - 15 minute walk to downtown, where you can walk easily to Kilkenny Castle and all downtown shops/pubs. Breakfast had excellent selection and Katherine really made us feel at home. The neighbourhood is quiet and there are a couple of decent pubs just up the street. Would definitely stay again. Shelley R, Saskatchewan, Canada

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Mena house one night in late June. Katherine was wonderful - very helpful with a map of the town and suggestions on places to eat and pubs to hear live music in. the rooms were very nice and she has a nice garden in the back with beutifull flowers. Breakfast was very good. It is a 10 minute walk into town and easy to get to.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank havanario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerdale, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was a lovely B & B very close to the center of Kilkenny. The hosts were very accommodating, they even allowed us to pick which rooms we wanted when we got there a little early! The host recommended we go to The Brog Maker which was just a short walk. The food was and service was good. Our stay at Mena House was a great way to spend out first night in Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great place to stay-Katherine was warm, friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was spacious, immaculate beds were comfortable. The breakfast choices were wonderful and the food served delicious. a great place to stay. I only wish we could have stayed longer! It was the best!

Room Tip: Great location-Don't hesitate to book if you can! Delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House B&B

Property: Mena House B&B
Address: Mena House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing