We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary owner great person full of life”
Review of Mena House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mena House B&B
Ranked #4 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Great food,cosy rooms great host in Mary only minutes from city lovely eating area like home away from home you wouldn't leave hungry great breakfast served lovely relaxing atmosphere environment well worth a visit

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilibheir75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Katherine is such a great hostess! My sister described her as the ambassador to Kilkenney but I think of her as ambassador of Ireland as she explained the beauty of Ireland that we should see on our road trip that began here. She does have an amazing breakfast. Our ensuite for three women was snug but cozy. Women need to be prepared in Ireland that hair dryers cannot be plugged in in the bathroom. Fortunately, Katherine had a plug near a bedroom mirror. Mainly, though, she put us onto a great Ireland road trip that would put us onto Irish adventures that our travel agency did not accomodate us with.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank rungirl920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

i had the great pleasure to stay at mena house last week (3 nights) and can unreservedly recommend the facility - katherine and her staff are first-rate! the breakfast was simply amazing: porridge and yogurt and something like 12 different types of fruit (including rhubarb and blackberries!) - not to mention the home-cooked "irish breakfast" of your choice... the bathrooms might be a tad small by north american standards, but the beds are comfy, the house is charming, the wi-fi signal is strong (reached every room i was in) and the service is in the "going above and beyond the call of duty" category! one of the best price/quality ratios i've ever seen - if only they could all be this good!

Room Tip: we had a room that faced the street but there was no street noise and we slept like logs (my travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I loved staying here. It was my first stay in Ireland and as I traveled I appreciated it more and more. The rooms were very clean. The garden is stunning and could be seen from my room as well as the breakfast area. That said, breakfast was excellent. I found it better than the "fancy hotels" in Kerry! The breakfast room felt elegant as well. It was well decorated and with all of the glass one might feel as if they were eating in a garden. The owner, Kathryn, was fantastic! I had car issues and she immediately put me in touch with the right man (Pat - super man). She knows every restaurant and site you may be interested in visiting. She always has her map out and mini maps handy. Her lovely waitress was wonderful too. Well done Kathryn. I truly appreciate your savy, charm, and personable nature! Thank you for a great first night!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Katherine Molloy is a fabulous innkeeper. She made us feel very welcome. She is friendly and a terrific ambassador for Ireland. So glad this was our first B & B stop during our week long driving trip. She has a big map and offered helpful advice and directions as we planned the rest of the week. Breakfast menu was a treat and a nice change of pace from the traditional Irish breakfast. The salmon with cream cheese on a bagel was delicious as was the pancake. The fresh fruit selection was awesome. The room was clean and quite adequate. I highly recommend a stay at Mena House in Kilkenny.

Room Tip: We booked a family room for 4 women travelling together- a double and two twins. Katherine thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vynckep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Beautiful B&B in walking distance to the city centre with an outstanding breakfast. The room was clean and of adequate size. The host is very nice and gives a lot of useful information not only about interesting spots in Kilkenny but also about nice places all over Ireland.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Philipp A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The B&B is in a good location. You can walk downtown from the B&B, however, it is a bit of a walk. The host was very helpful in showing us how to get downtown and in recommending places to go. We were able to order breakfast from a menu, and the meal was wonderful. The room was clean, a good size, and in good condition.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,978 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Newlands Lodge
Newlands Lodge
#2 of 74 in Kilkenny
502 reviews
11.3 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#5 of 74 in Kilkenny
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House B&B

Address: Mena House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing