We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, OK stay”
Review of Carraig Rua B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carraig Rua B&B
Ranked #17 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, OK stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at Carraig Rua B&B for one night during a trip around southern Ireland. The B&B was really close to Kilkenny Castle, all the fun pubs and the quaint little stores, so we were able to walk everywhere (a plus when you're just learning to drive on the left side of the road...).

The B&B itself was OK. I felt like I was sleeping on a cardboard box, but it was very quiet and peaceful at night. The owners were nice, but not overly friendly - didn't really ask if we needed anything or help getting around. They were nice people though. The breakfast was good - eggs and bacon (which literally looked like it was stripped straight from the pig - not at all like the bacon in the States!).

If given the chance to visit Kilkenny again, I may or may not stay here. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMiller262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    37
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
72
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We were also very cold during our stay here which was luckily only one night. We arrived late afternoon after our flight into Ireland hoping for a hot shower. No such luck. My friend had a lukewarm shower while I had a frigid one w/ no water pressure. The room also never warmed up both that night and in the morning. We did have more hot water in the morning, but it still almost ran out during the second shower. The hosts were nice, but I was ready to warm up when we left.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

While the location was great for walking around Kilkenny and the room we had spacious, we were cold. The radiators had the knobs removed and we were cold, sleeping in layers. We were told the heat came on at half past 4, that didn't warm the room up. The shower water was cold, even with the "hot" all the way on. The walls were thin and we could hear the couple next door with their screaming, ill-behaved child.

Every dish/glass/silverware we had at breakfast had dried bits of breakfasts past. My husband can't eat eggs and we had specified that in our booking, but they brought him a full Irish breakfast, complete with eggs & blood sausage.

Be aware that the pubs and restaurants (if you can find any) stop serving food about 6pm, but that goodness for Pizza Hut delivery!

The wi-fi didn't reach the back of the house where our room was so anytime we needed to pop on the internet, we had to take the laptop downstairs to the sitting room. My husband was on call our vacation for his job in IT and this was an inconvenience with a 6 hour time difference between work & Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silsbee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My husband and I were road-tripping around Ireland and wound up in Kilkenny after a few days. We weren't sure what to expect. We drove around a little and passed by a B&B I'd noticed in a guidebook, so we stopped there. Though we were able to give no advance notice and it was the off-season, the hostess was very gracious and happy to accommodate us. Our room was clean, modern, and comfortable and the rate was very reasonable. Our hostess was very friendly and was able to give a lot of helpful information about Kilkenny along with a map and guidebook. The location of this B&B was outstanding, just a short lovely walk into city centre. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and very filling, and the dining room was beautiful. In the morning we wanted to explore Kilkenny some more and our hostess very generously offered to let us keep our car parked in the lot for free because parking downtown is so expensive. Overall it was a huge pleasure to stay at Carraig Rua and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My wife and I stayed a night here while traveling from Cork to Dublin. The free parking was nice and the host was very welcoming. She directed us towards several restaurants and pubs in the city center.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainwreck08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Beautiful home, breakfast much better than most, warm plums etc. Warm hospitality, excellent accommodation. Comfortable bed! super location.
Thank You! Mike & JoAnne, Toledo Oh.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tressler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Good location B&B with private parking and full Irish breakfast. We payed 70 euro for a double room. Nothing to write home about but ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
768 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig Rua B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Rua B&B

Property: Carraig Rua B&B
Address: Carraig Rua Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carraig Rua B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing