We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good B&B”
Review of Carraig Rua B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carraig Rua B&B
Ranked #16 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We needed a place to stay the night in Kilkenny. We drove past and, after checking out the rest of the town, came back. Good, friendly service by the family running the B&B. We were given a room over looking the back garden, which was nice. A big room, comfortable, clean with a decent ensuite. Handy walking distance to the main street of town. Off street parking.

Breakfast was nice and included scones and jam, plunger coffee, etc. Nice breakfast room.

This is a place I would go back to. Everything you want from a B&B. Job well done Carraig Rua B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the back garden - a nice view and must be quiter than one would be facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0balt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay and the owners were extremely kind and helpful. They made a recommendation for food and music at a great pub and gave us directions to all the attractions. We wish we would have stayed in Kilkenny for another day to see all the shops and stores open. It looks like a great city.

The B&B was a little farther from the city center than expected, about a 10 minute walk, but still doable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

One night wasn't enough, we should have stayed longer at this great house. Oonagh is a kind lady and very welcoming. The room was very nice and breakfast was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was the first B&B we stayed in during our trip to Ireland and it was a great start to the trip. Oonagh was a great hostess; the room was lovely. The breakfast was very good. The location is very, very convenient for walking in and around town. We would definitely stayed there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_and_Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here and the couple that runs things are very nice. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The full Irish breakfast was tasty. We went with another couple and we both had issues with the showers. Theirs was backed up and ours had no water pressure. Neither one of us complained to the owners so it could not have been so bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneyedqtpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Let me tell you: this place is great! Not only are the owners nice, but they are willing to give you any info you need! Que bueno. It's very clean and nice and very close the castle. Accommodations are wonderful! I would go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dentaldrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Excellent B & B. We stayed here for only one night & wished we had scheduled more. The rooms were lovely. The food was delicious & the location was quiet & peaceful but easy to walk to town center. OOnagh was a fabulous hostess. We loved it.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank phylgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
816 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
0.2 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 74 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 74 in Kilkenny
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig Rua B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Rua B&B

Address: Carraig Rua Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carraig Rua B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing