We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ first night in Ireland”
Review of Carraig Rua B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carraig Rua B&B
Ranked #14 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ft myers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A+ first night in Ireland”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A+ just a few hours drive from DUB airport, Comfortable clean rooms, just a short walk to town for shopping, dinner, pub music, sight seeing. wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was wonderful.
Oonahg is the perfect hostess.

Room Tip: Our room for 3 was Perfect plenty of room comfortable clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    37
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
71
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Carraig Rua. The B&B is located just a short walk to the town and attractions. The rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, particularly the homemade baked goods, The owners are delightful with great recommendations for dinner and siteseeing. We look forward to our next trip to Ireland and would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We needed a place to stay the night in Kilkenny. We drove past and, after checking out the rest of the town, came back. Good, friendly service by the family running the B&B. We were given a room over looking the back garden, which was nice. A big room, comfortable, clean with a decent ensuite. Handy walking distance to the main street of town. Off street parking.

Breakfast was nice and included scones and jam, plunger coffee, etc. Nice breakfast room.

This is a place I would go back to. Everything you want from a B&B. Job well done Carraig Rua B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the back garden - a nice view and must be quiter than one would be facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0balt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay and the owners were extremely kind and helpful. They made a recommendation for food and music at a great pub and gave us directions to all the attractions. We wish we would have stayed in Kilkenny for another day to see all the shops and stores open. It looks like a great city.

The B&B was a little farther from the city center than expected, about a 10 minute walk, but still doable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

One night wasn't enough, we should have stayed longer at this great house. Oonagh is a kind lady and very welcoming. The room was very nice and breakfast was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was the first B&B we stayed in during our trip to Ireland and it was a great start to the trip. Oonagh was a great hostess; the room was lovely. The breakfast was very good. The location is very, very convenient for walking in and around town. We would definitely stayed there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here and the couple that runs things are very nice. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The full Irish breakfast was tasty. We went with another couple and we both had issues with the showers. Theirs was backed up and ours had no water pressure. Neither one of us complained to the owners so it could not have been so bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyedqtpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
10.5 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig Rua B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Rua B&B

Property: Carraig Rua B&B
Address: Carraig Rua Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carraig Rua B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing