We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Carraig Rua B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carraig Rua B&B
Ranked #15 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It took a few minutes to find this B&B as the sign is a little small to see at night, but it was such a great B&B! The owner was very nice and was also nice enough to print out our vouchers since we were supposed to have them already printed. The B&B was clean and the room was spacious. It was a pretty close walk to Killkenny and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyDreamTrip_01-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Carraig Rua B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised my the location and convenience of Carraig Rua. The B7B is a traditional local building with ample space inside and tastefully decorated for the period of the house. The proprietors are professional B&B operators, each room is well presented, neat and functional in line with the expectations of a B&B. Our room had an ensuite on the first floor. Breakfast was served in a new glass room extension facing the garden behind the house. Breakfast was well prepared and three options for main hot meal.

A short walk from the B&B has you walking down the main street of KilKenny where the interesting and attractive elements of the town are located. It was nice to be located just beyond the high activity zone of Kilkenny, but so convenient that you did not need your car.

We chose a famous pub in town area for dinner which was pleasant followed by an evening Irish Band playing in the courtyard at 8pm, it was a delight to observe the local people enjoying their music and the music from the band. There are many other points of interest if you walk around the town.

The following day we visited the Kilkenny Castle which is well presented and furnished in period. Well worth the visit. The Killarney Design Centre across the road from the Castle is also well worth visiting as a collection point for many handicrafts and quality items you may want to take home as a souvenir of your trip, not you average trashy souvenir shop. The items are quality and tasteful.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room on the top floor facing the rear garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

First of all, this is a great location only 5 minutes walking from the town center. The hosts were both lovely and the room was immaculate with very comfortable beds! The breakfast was great with nice tasting breads and a great eggs. I would definitely recommend this B and B and stay again if returning to Kilkenny!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Priscilla2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for a night recently - first time not to book a hotel for years. A little dated but this was negated by the friendliness of the lady of the house. Rooms good size and seemed clean but the walls were so dusty I couldn't relax in the bed. It could do with a little updating - carpets ..... I couldn't take my socks off and go barefoot :-( Ensuite grand - shower could do with descaling but plenty of hot water. The breakfast was served in the conservatory which was lovely - scones in the bread basket - nice touch.

Room Tip: family rooms available. Quiet enough as the house is set back from the road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiranhaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is lovely B&B, very handy to train station and town. There are lovely victorian decorations with a nice breakfast room in a light conservatory. We were in Kilkenny on a sunday so it was very quiet. Since our weather was lovely, we sat by the river and fed the ducks, did a wlking tour,toured the castle and then sat in the courtyard of the castle enjoying the weather and the scenery. Usually Sundays can be a challenge in Europe as a lot of things are closed, but this was a very nice day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Due to an accident on the motorway we arrived late. Our hostess greeted us with a smile and engaged in conversation. Our rooms were large and comfortable. In the downstairs living room are tea and coffee for the guests all day and evening. We were close enough to walk to town for dinner. Breakfast was served in a lovely large area that looked onto a beautiful garden backyard. Great breakfast. The host and hostess were very warm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a great stay at Carraig Rua! We wish we could have stayed longer in the town of Kilkenny. This B&B is within walking distance to the town and all of the historic sites you may want to see. The owners were very good hosts. Upon arrival the owner showed us to our room and gave us some great advice on sightseeing and local pubs. Our room was very clean and the full irish breakfast the very next morning was amazing! We cannot wait to come back! When we do we will definitely be staying at this B&B! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derjam115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig Rua B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Rua B&B

Address: Carraig Rua Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £68 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carraig Rua B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing