We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carraig Rua B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carraig Rua B&B
Ranked #15 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Austell, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Oonagh is a great advocate for Kilkenney. She gave us lots of tips for places to spend the day enjoying including music into the night. The breakfasts were delicious and we especially liked eating in the sunroom. The location made it great for leaving the car and walking the town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    35
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
68
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is not a bad B&B, it is just average. The double my wife and I booked was small and bathroom was small. There was a sewage type of smell coming from the bathroom so we had to keep the door shut at all times. The staff was great though, very pleasant and helpful. The walk downtown was very easy. No comment on breakfast as left too early for it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I called Oonagh on a Saturday afternoon from town and was pleased that she said she still had a room available. Unfortunately, only a standard double - private bath but no en suite. I told her I would check with my husband and call back, but that it might be a problem as we hadn't packed bathrobes, and she said, No problem, there was one for us in the room!
She explained how to get there, so we were able to park our car at the B&B and walk back into town to see a couple sights she had recommended. Some days I just can't face another Full Irish, so she offered us scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, which was nice! There was still toast, scones, fruit and cereal on offer, so it isn't like one could starve anyway.

Room Tip: I was in the double room looking over the front door and the road; wasn't bothered by traffic so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livingineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellant place to start our holiday. Walking distance to Kilkenny. A must stay if you're in Kilkenny. Very comfortable rooms and Beds. Amazing Breakfast in the morning in a sun filled room, excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieCourchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We not only enjoyed our stay in Kilkenny, we certainly enjoyed our stay at the Carraig Rua B&B. Oonagh was very helpful with information on the town, dining places, etc. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The room had a good bed, It was clean and a great accommodation for the price. We both like Kilkenny and wished we could have stayed another night. We were traveling by public bus so the house was an easy walk to the station. We appreciated the warm welcome we received.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seahag59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It took a few minutes to find this B&B as the sign is a little small to see at night, but it was such a great B&B! The owner was very nice and was also nice enough to print out our vouchers since we were supposed to have them already printed. The B&B was clean and the room was spacious. It was a pretty close walk to Killkenny and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyDreamTrip_01-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised my the location and convenience of Carraig Rua. The B7B is a traditional local building with ample space inside and tastefully decorated for the period of the house. The proprietors are professional B&B operators, each room is well presented, neat and functional in line with the expectations of a B&B. Our room had an ensuite on the first floor. Breakfast was served in a new glass room extension facing the garden behind the house. Breakfast was well prepared and three options for main hot meal.

A short walk from the B&B has you walking down the main street of KilKenny where the interesting and attractive elements of the town are located. It was nice to be located just beyond the high activity zone of Kilkenny, but so convenient that you did not need your car.

We chose a famous pub in town area for dinner which was pleasant followed by an evening Irish Band playing in the courtyard at 8pm, it was a delight to observe the local people enjoying their music and the music from the band. There are many other points of interest if you walk around the town.

The following day we visited the Kilkenny Castle which is well presented and furnished in period. Well worth the visit. The Killarney Design Centre across the road from the Castle is also well worth visiting as a collection point for many handicrafts and quality items you may want to take home as a souvenir of your trip, not you average trashy souvenir shop. The items are quality and tasteful.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room on the top floor facing the rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
10.5 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig Rua B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Rua B&B

Property: Carraig Rua B&B
Address: Carraig Rua Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carraig Rua B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing