We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for getting to the city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carraig Rua B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carraig Rua B&B
Ranked #15 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location for getting to the city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My wife and I stayed a night here while traveling from Cork to Dublin. The free parking was nice and the host was very welcoming. She directed us towards several restaurants and pubs in the city center.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trainwreck08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    35
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
68
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Beautiful home, breakfast much better than most, warm plums etc. Warm hospitality, excellent accommodation. Comfortable bed! super location.
Thank You! Mike & JoAnne, Toledo Oh.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tressler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Good location B&B with private parking and full Irish breakfast. We payed 70 euro for a double room. Nothing to write home about but ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin 4
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed in the Carraig Rua BB in mid July (myself & my Girlfriend both in our 30's), we both felt very disappointed with our stay, the hospitality we recieved was very poor, we told the lady running the bb that we would like our breakfast for 9.30am & she said that was fine only to recieve a knock on our door at 9.00am the next morning telling us to get up for our breakfast. The breakfast was also not very nice at all either. After breakfast we returned to our bedroom knowing that we had to check out at 11.00am, we relaxed in our room then decided to have showers before we left, then at 10.30am we recieved another knock on our bedroom door again the lady asking us to leave the b&b before 11.00am. I found this quite annoying as we were both packing up our belongings to leave at 11.00am. Carraig Rua BB is a nice period property with nice features but i have to say that the hospitality left alot to be desired, Just because you have a good flow of tourists coming through your door does'nt mean you can treat guests like that, i know for sure the next time im staying kilkenny it won't be at the carraig Rua B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duff09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Place was nice, and clean. Breakfast was good and filling, and the room had lots of big windows to look out on the garden. Location was good and quiet, beds were comfortable, and host was friendly. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinkeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

The hostess was friendly and very welcoming and the house was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect. The shower room was a nice size and there were lots of clean towels. I will definitely stay there again when I am in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Located near the Kilkenny Castle and Black Abbey and a few blocks from main street of Kilkenny, this is a small,charming B&B. There was a a convenient coffee service in the hallway, an airy breakfast room overlooking the garden. Oona, the hostess was kind and helpful and served a lovely breakfast.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank djb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
10.5 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig Rua B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Rua B&B

Property: Carraig Rua B&B
Address: Carraig Rua Dublin Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carraig Rua B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing