We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Kilkenny.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunboy Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Kilkenny.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Helen was an amazing hostess. The rooms are spacious and spotless. The Irish breakfast is my favorite. She offered advise on the local hot spots and value added stops. A short walk to down town. Loved it! Warm and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnlgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were lucky enough to get a spot at this B&B at last minute as we arrived in the midst of a large music festival. The room was quite nice, with a double bed and a twin at the other side of the room with a window looking out over the front of the house. We paid about €35 each, €70 total for both of us.

Our hosts were quite friendly in getting us comfortable, and in the morning, they cooked a delicious breakfast.

The house is a bit of a jaunt down to the city center but this should not be problematic for anybody.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NonRevTravelBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsfelde, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed at Dunboy B&B already in 2006. Based on this experience I had to choose it again for our this year's journey. Helen is a great host and her selfmade citymap together with her special infos will guide you to the interesting places of Kilkenny quite well. It's a 10 minutes walk from Dunboy B&B to Kilkenny city centre and a 20 minutes walk back if you drunk to many Guinness ;-). The breakfast was great and the room was clean and comfortable. Thanks a lot for the amazing hospitality.
Gerd and Juergen from Germany

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at Dunboy B & B in early September 2012. The very best thing about Dunboy was the warm welcome and friendly hospitality. Our thanks to Helen and Tony for their hospitality, and a special thank you to Helen for helping us with a couple of problems. We appreciated their advice and help in seeing the area and finding places to eat. The room was clean and comfortable; the breakfast delicious and filling. Yes, the downtown was a bit of a walk, but once we learned that we could park at the bottom of the hill, the walk was cut in half. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Kilkenny,and Helen and Tony were no small part of that enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Helen made me feel so comfortable from the first email conversation. She provided me a very detailed driving direction to find her place. Breakfast was great.
It is a nice mid way spot to stay hopping from the west to the east island. I dont find Kilkenny City that interesting as others mentioned, but I still appreciated the touch of medieval.
Would be nice to have internet access for trip planning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKPIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We made Dunboy B&B our base for our travels around this part of Ireland. Helen was a great host and able to give us the info on Kilkenny and travel to surrounding places. Also directed us to a good pub with great music. breakfasts were great and the bed comfortable.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robbie1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Yes, Helen is lovely, and the place is spotless. Her suggestions about Kilkenny were helpful, and we love maps, so her hand-drawn map was a bit of a charmer, although it's not as necessary these days. On the other hand, we were surprised by the incredibly tiny bathroom and the fact that we couldn't have coffee in the room in the morning. It's a kilometer walk into town, and in July the way is very buggy (past the dog track). To be honest, the town is not very interesting, although Kilkenny Castle is worth a visit. This wasn't our favorite place, but it's fine if you know what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaxAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.2 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny House Hotel
Kilkenny House Hotel
#58 of 73 in Kilkenny
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleeres Greensbridge House
Cleeres Greensbridge House
#62 of 73 in Kilkenny
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glendine House
Glendine House
#21 of 73 in Kilkenny
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carraig Rua B&B
Carraig Rua B&B
#17 of 73 in Kilkenny
112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Breagagh View
Breagagh View
#46 of 73 in Kilkenny
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunboy Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunboy Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dunboy Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dunboy 10 Parkview Drive | Freshford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunboy is a family run Bed and Breakfast in Kilkenny City situated in a quiet residential area. Walking distance to City centre (1KM). We pride ourselves on providing traditional, classic Irish hospitality. We strive to create an atmosphere of "home from home" during your stay with us. Our Facilities Include: 4 Rooms En-Suite, Cable Television /Clock/Radio and Hair dryer in all rooms. Guest Sitting Room with Tea and Coffee making facilities. Private off street Parking. No smoking policy within the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dunboy Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunboy Bed And Breakfast
Dunboy Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing